The OLYMPICS!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
February 24th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What you all have been so patiently awaiting...thank you for baring with me...is this story! Probably the best day of my life! Torino, the Olympics, everything was absolutely amazing!!! After coming out of the train station, the first thing i saw that really captured my eye was this Italian man i saw...now he didn't capture my eye in the way most would like to think...He was strikingly similar to someone from home and I immediatedly knew who it was: Filpi!!! he was about the same height, same build, had the same eyes, and even the same gruff laugh...But i was too intimidated by him to stop and talk. (And as it turns out Filpi had some relatives that live near Torino....I should have just tried to talk to him) and the Canandian wanted to carry on. So, first things first. We got off the train, and because we were hungry we decided to find some food. We hopped on a bus and rode around. The boys really had no clue where they were going, so I decided after walking in circles for an hour to leave them....they didn't seem to saddened by this either. Well, i hopped on another train and ran into some really friendly American ladies. they all seemed quite wealthy but they were chatty, so I indulged...They couldn't believe that I was all alone in Italy and didn't have a place to stay! (thanks for reminding me!) But they helped me figure out where the Today was broadcasting from, so that was cool. After I got off the bus, i decided to go claim my ticket. I stopped by an info booth and got a map of Torino. FINALLY! Torino is the first European city that I have come to that has normal, grid-like streets...which when you think about it is actually amazing (I'll tell you why if you ask). Well, i was walking to get my tickets and I ran into a Russian Hockey player...he didn't speak much english, but just enough to communicate. I told him i loved his country and he asked if i had ever been there. i said no, he told me i was crazy. I told him i love the history...All of it and again he told me I was crazy...only Russians love their country...But I got a picture with him, so that was cool. But what was really funny was that
Go RussiaGo RussiaGo Russia

One of the Russian Hockey Players, Me and one of the Coaches
after I took the picture, his coaches, wanted a pic with me and then they asked for my "signature" I said ok and i told them to keep it because i was going to be president of the USA one day! They all laughed at that!!! So, i continued on my merry way. One thing about italians though, if they don't know where something is when you ask them, they sure like to save face and have you running in circles. So, i came to a dead end. My map had run out there was a two block span of where i could find the ticket booth. So, I stopped a guy in "Torino2006" Apparel and he didn't know so he stopped an elder lady walking her dog. I guess she was from the area and could be of better help to me. But she was a sweet, sweet thing. She didn't speak a lick of English, but i kept hearing her say Venga Aqui--come here and I just kept following her. She tried to offer me her umbrella, which after a few turn downs, i finally accepted. We even stopped in a cafe and she demanded if anyone in there knew where the ticket booth was they tell us. it was really nice of her. Nobody knew so we walked around the block again and ran into some younger men iwht the Torino 2006 stuff on. They spoke english and they brought me right where i needed to be. I walked in and waited in queue. And I heard someone Say "St. Norbert College, you go there?" I said yes, to which he responded my cousin goes there. I said really, try me, the school is SO small i am bound to know who it is. He then asked if i knew Drew Difleson. I said yes and told him not only do i go to SNC with drew, but I also went to High Shcool and Middle school with drew!!! Small world. Well, he was at the olympics to see Curling, my original event to see. The UsA was against GB for the bronze. And then he said he was flying back to London that night. Well, after that I collected my ticket and made my way to the TODAY Show...I got there at the right time, becuase they were just getting ready to begin broadcasting!!! I stayed out in teh rian for an hour and then decided it was time to go to the Bobsled. Mind you this is 2pm and the Bobsled doens't start until 530...
So, I went to the train station and tried to figure out where I was going to buy my ticket. But luckily I found three really nice girls from Rutgers who were going to the Bobsled as well. Their names are Dalmla, Jane and Claire. So, I decided to tag along with them for the ride. They were quite friendly and helpful. After we got our tickets we had some pizza and at it at the counter. It's funny because you don't sit at the tall tables you stand and eat your food. There are no chairs, so more people fit around them. Kinda interesting. Then, we got on the train. We were on it for about 90 minutes. After we got to Oulx, the where the train terminated, we then had to get on a coach. The coach then drove us up and around the mountain for another hour or so. Then, we we got there, we got off the coach, this is where i left the girls because they had to meet somebody else and get their tickets, i already had mine so I went to the security line right away. While I was standing in Line some very nice people from Utah and Oregon, were very friendly to me. I found out later that it was Sasha Cohen and her family. I even went through security with them. Then I went to the souvenir shop and bought myself two tee-shirts and a cow bell!!! (i have a fever and the only prescription is more cow bell!!!) I got one hot chocolate and one warm wine...i figured that should suffice me for the time being...But while i was in the line, the event started and i still didn't find my seat. Then, I started to continue to climb the hill to the top where my seat was. But it took me forever, as I decided to stop at every straightaway and curve to take pictures. And I am glad I did that I took SO many pictures, but a lot more movies!!! So, i'll show those to you later, if you ask, but theyare pretty sweet. and then the most wonderful thing happened!!! It began to snow! it
TodayShow2TodayShow2TodayShow2

Katie Couric and Sasha Cohen
was probably the most wonderful thing that could happen! And then I meet the women's luge team...then, i finally got to my seat at intermission. But, I met a very friendly couple from Boston. They tried to take a pic for me, but it wasn't too cool. Then, I met April. SHe is a girl from Sheboygen who is friends with the BreDawg. they went to HS together and she was at the Bobsled all by herself. I was really glad I met her because it gave me someone who could really relate to my situation. We took a lot more pics and stuff and walked down the hill to the finish line. That was so sweet! And then after it was all over we took the gondolas down to the coaches, got back on them, took them to the train and got on the train. WHile on the train we met a very wealthy couple from New york and some kid from boston. The kid, Jeff, was also at the Bobsled alone. After we got back to Torino, Jeff, April and I went for typical Italian pizza and Wine!!! Oh it was a great meal and it was really
TodayShow3TodayShow3TodayShow3

Tom Brokaw and Matt Lauer
cheap. Then, we all went our separate ways. The restaurant was close to my hotel, so i went back and called home to say i was fine and went to bed. It was probably the best sleep of my life. the best bed! So, warm! I loved the room and when I woke up to get ready to leave Torino, i cried. I didn't want to leave the Olympics. I didn't want it to end....So, when I woke up I went to the cafe' near my hotel. The man didn't speak English but I tried some spanish and somehow he understood me. I also got some chocolates and some souvenir mascots from the Olympics...then I went to get o the coach to go to the Airport. Whilst waiting for my plane I met the head cameraman for the Jay Leno show. I love that show! It was cool. But it took forever to leave Torino. It took an hour before we were able to get off the ground. I could see the Alps as we flew overhead. It was AWESOMe!!!
See you in Vancouver in 2010!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Bobsled Event1Bobsled Event1
Bobsled Event1

This is the girls from Rutgers: Jane, Claire, Damla and Me!
Bobsled Event9Bobsled Event9
Bobsled Event9

FinishLine
Bobsled Event10Bobsled Event10
Bobsled Event10

The Mascots


12th March 2006

Interesting
That is so strange that you met Drew's cousin in Torino! I am quite amazed that there are so many college students from the states in Europe and that you know someone who knows them...

Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb