Overnight Train


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
February 23rd 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, really my train started out from Salzburg for me, but i was in Munich for awhile, so that i why I put down that I was there...because that counts for me!!! Hahaha...So, after basically a day of waiting. I got on the train and it was probably the nicest train I have been on thus far. I sat in the same area with another person. It was a young man. He lives in Munich and was taking the train home because he works in Linz, Austria. Pretty cool. The nice thing about our seats, was the outlets, so i was able to charge my iPod and camera batteries. We were only on the train for about two hours. Then i arrived in Munich. However, I had about 3 hours before my train left at midnight to spend in Munich. However, past experience has taught be that the train stations tend to be in the "iffy" parts of the town, so i decided not to spend any time outside of the station and just remain within its bounds. About, maybe two hours before I was to leave, the train was at the platform and i asked one of the conductors if it would be ok to board and they said alright. So, i got and found my seat. Then, a girl, Sandra, from Germany got on. She was going to Milan. She spoke broken English, but she spoke both Italian and Spanish, so we used Spanish to communicate. Then a young man about our age from Budapest, Hungry. He too did not speak English, but knew some Spanish. So, we sat there and occasionally would say something in Spanish to one another...Honestly, if a native speaker heard us they would have thought we were all a bunch of three year olds or something...After being on the train for about two hours, the guy got off. Which was good, cuz i didn't want to sleep in the same area with him in there...so it was a great relief. Then a few stops later a girl from italy got on. She didn't speak much english either. So, I felt very international! But the Italian girl was really annoying...when she was tired, she wanted us to be quiet, she turned off the ligths and went to bed and Shushed us whenever we talked or moved or basically did anything...I didn't get much sleep during the ride because I would sleep for two hours and then really wide awake for about a half hour, then sleep for two more. At one point I went to the seats down the car from us. There were some guys from Toronto. They were going to the Olympics as well. We talked some, but i got tired and went back to my seat to sleep. At 545 am, the Italian girl decided that it was time to get up!!! She turned on all the ligths and started talking on her mobile very loudly!!! Ugh! I was so mad and so tired. But an at like 7, a bunch of creepy Italian men got on. I was kind of freaked because I was still in my pajamas. So, I went to the lou to change. and when i came back they all stared at me. Not only was it uncomfortable that way but it was also very, very hot temperature wise in the train. Around 9 am they all got off and it was just me on the train, and the guys from toronto. We finally pulled in to Torino at about 1030am...What a ride!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb