Condoms and Concerts


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Genoa
August 20th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well hello my loyal band of followers! I am once again back in the sunny land of Italia. Dont you just hate me? So yes, I arrived on Sunday, my appartment is a lot nicer than I was expecting it to be, I'm sharing it with a lovely german girl called Anne, and a very nice spanish couple called Dani and (insert name of girlfriend which i've forgotten here). So fun house times, yay. Unfortunately all the other Italian families in the building are rediculously loud at all hours, but it does give me a good excuse for a siesta... Not that I need one (an excuse that is, I always need a siesta). Our house is about a 30 minute walk away from the school I'm studying at, but it's a very pretty walk so I don't mind too much, and it helps wake me up seeing as the lessons start at 9am every morning. I'm in the 'advanced' class with 2 spanish girls. I'm finding it quite hard, i'm definitely the worst in the group. But it's about the same level as the stuff we do at uni so I really need to get to the point where it's not hard before I go back, I've got 3 and a half weeks left, so I'm sure I'll be fine.

Yesterday I went on a walking tour of the city with a group from school. It was really nice, I thought the city would be a lot bigger but with less to do, so it's good that it's the other way round! Tonight I'm just going out for drinks with some people from the course. I really want to go and visit the acquarium, because it's supposed to be one of the best in Europe. Or something. And on friday I'm going to visit the botanical gardens.

On Sat 13th Sept there's a big MTV concert and Duffy is playing. Unfortunately that's the day I fly home. Bummer. I can't decide if it's worth trying to change my flights and going. I don't think so, seeing as I've never even heard of all the other acts playing. Although I would like to go see Duffy, I like her music.

So now for your favourite part of my blogs, Sophie's Comment on the Culture. My comment for this week is; Italians must be right randy so and sos. In England, condom dispenser machines are found usually only in the toilets of clubs, am I right? Well here they are placed at five minute intervals down every street! I've yet to see anyone use them, mind you, but they fact that they're everyone has to say something...

Well I might go, as I'm hungry, and lunch is a half hour walk away in my house. Oh! I bought one of the books I'm supposed to have read foe one of my courses before I go back, and boy is it flippin difficult! I have to ready another one by the same author and I'm now dreading it! I really want to read them both before I get home because when I get back I want to concentrate on preparing for my spanish oral. SO maybe there won't be quite so much wii playing next year as I immagined!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb