The Entirely Average Duckling


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Liguria » Genoa
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I made entirely the wrong choice in friends here in Italy. I also just realised I seem to start every single blog with the word 'so'. Anywho, I have somehow managed to be friends with entirely beautiful people, including a stunning German girl and a beautiful Swedish boy who could sell me underwear anyday. I realised this the other day, whilst sat on the giant rock that passed for a beach in the absence of sand here (it was much more beautiful than it sounds, and the sea was lovely, so warm and clear and calm). I am the proverbial average looking duckling, or at least I would be if such a proverb existed. I shan't call myself ugly, because clearly I am not.

I also realised the other day that I packed entirely inappropriately for this trip. I brought 3 pairs of jeans and 3 jumpers with me, and of course haven't worn any of them! Also bought pyjamas entirely too warm and so have been sleeping nekked. Thankfully I have my own room so it's okay.

I can't remmeber what I had already done last time I blogged so you'll now get the entire rundown, possibly again. We went to the acquarium where I acted like an excited child and took about 130 photos. (I've taken around 400 in total so far!) We went to the Parco di Villa Pallaviccini which was a big garden.. parky... thing. Very beautiful. Had more wanders round the city, read more of my Italian book (only 60 more pages and I'm free... to start on the enxt one.) Have become entirely addicted to a TV progam called Gilmour Girls which Anne and I watch besically every evening erm.. been to the "beach" twice. No sand, lots of rocks, but absolutely beautiful. And... I think that might be about it. I think not this weekend but the next I'll go and visit Milan.

This week I've been in the intermediate class because the two other girls in the advanced class with me left, so it was just me. I find it really interesting how in this intermediate class I clearly understand the grammer better and read faster and easier and write a bit better than the others in the class, but when it comes to speaking they're actually way better than me. It frustrates me so very much that I can think in near perfect Italian, and can make it come out of my hands but never quite make it out of my mouth. It's the same for me in English and Spanish though. I'm not very elequent in comparison to writing ability. Who knows why.

Ho hum. Well I'm hungry, lunch is calling. So ciao tutti.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb