Day 20: Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 23rd 2017
Published: August 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

This morning I had to check out by 10:00 am because I was switching rooms. I woke up before my 8:30 alarm and took care of some details from back home. You can't escape it completely. The helpful and friendly staff at the hostel printed out a ticket for the Vatican for me. A couple of blocks from the hostel was a restaurant that had a 6€ breakfast that I couldn't refuse. The A line metro in Rome only took 5 and 10€ banknotes. I asked a bus ticket booth for change but the guy was being an asshole. I got some at a money exchange and got on a train that I thought was the right one. After one stop I took a look around and discovered that the A line I needed to take was down for maintenance. My options were to take a bus, but I'd miss the 12:30 pm entry time for my ticket. I didn't know if it would be invalid for any later times. I couldn't risk it, so I took a taxi. I was able to walk right in at 12:25. I've seen so many old paintings and sculptures so I pretty walked as fast as I could to the Sistine Chapel. It actually took a while as the path is quite long and there were so many people. Once in the chapel, it's clearly displayed and enforced by security guards that no photographs are to be taken. My highlight was the middle aged woman taking a video with her phone being disciplined like a child after being caught red handed by security and forced to delete it. I had some great pasta at a restaurant close to the Vatican walls. The girl next to me thought there'd be no problem taking her shoes off and propping her feet up on the chair opposite of her. What's wrong with people? After that I walked to St. Peter's Basilica. I debated going up to the top but didn't want to wait in line. Instead I made my way to the Colosseum. I walked the long way. It was nice but extremely hot. I had some gelato on the way to cool off. The Colosseum was cool thinking about what it was used for. It was strange seeing modern signage and a gift shop incorporated into it though. I walked back to the hostel and was completed dead. I still had to find accommodations for the next couple of nights in Florence. I couldn't think straight and was so hungry. I think I'm actually suffering from exhaustion while on vacation. Checking into the new room I met a couple of the guys. An Australian and I went and got some pizza and fruit. I wanted some fruit so badly. After contemplating another hostel or airbnb, I ended up springing for a lavish airbnb that my brother's friend owns. It's way over the top, but it might help me recharge. It's just money right? I'll forget about the cost eventually.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb