Day 21: Rome/Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 24th 2017
Published: August 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I checked out and bought a pastry from a bakery near by. Honestly, I think the pastries were better in Paris. Luckily the Metro ticket I bought yesterday was still valid. I thought I'd be nice and fresh for the bus ride, but as usual I was in a rush and was sweating buckets by the time I got to the bus. I noticed two girls looking around like I was and I asked them if they were looking for the station as well. We found it together. While waiting to board the bus a Brazilian girl, Marina, asked me if it was the correct bus for Florence. We talked during the bus ride and agreed to meet up when we were there. Across the aisle was a woman with her bare feet up on the seat beside her/hanging out in the aisle. Nobody wants to see that. The Italian men behind me who were closest to the biohazard told her to put her shoes back on. She was speaking French on the phone earlier, but she pretended to not understand them and said to speaking English. I told her and removed my own shoe and put it back on to show what everyone wanted her to do. She still refused and told the Italian men to move elsewhere if they didn't like it. It's not like this terrible human being didn't understand anyone at this point. He complained to the bus driver and while driving the driver told her to put her shoes back on. She continued to refuse, and said she didn't understand. Shortly after, he pulled the bus over at a rest stop and reamed her out. She finally put here shoes on and the driver was thanked in three different languages. Some people's behavior is absolutely mind boggling. It was a short train after the bus to the Airbnb. I met Alessio, my brother's friend at the apartment and it's was beautiful. Very Italian, in the sense that it was beautiful, but needed some finish work to be done. Kind of like an Italian car. I went out and got a Panini at a cafe nearby. The keeper asked me where I was from and I said Vancouver. In his very limited English he and another person asked me about the currently raging forest fires. A woman who could translate for us helped me clue in. I didn't even know about the fires but it is that time of year. I got some groceries afterwards, and again didn't weigh my own fruit. I napped, showered then researched some motorcycle rentals. I planned on riding up to Maranello to go to the Ferrari Museum on Saturday. Just after 8:00 pm I got to a garage that rented motorcycles. They were actually closed, but one of the guys was there late and still let me make a reservation. After that that I got some pizza and called it a night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb