Day 19: Zadar/Split/Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
August 22nd 2017
Published: August 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

It was a 20 minute walk to the bus depot from the hostel. I left late because I was talking to Fillipo the Italian. I showered and by the time I got to the bus depot I was all sweaty with three minutes to spare. I have to stop doing this. Coming down the hill into Split reminded me of coming down into Osoyoos, just bigger. Seeing it made me think that I should have spent time here instead. Oh well. I only spent 45 minutes there before I caught a shuttle bus to the airport. The airport is pretty small and very busy. Not much happened there except for me getting sleepy and annoyed with more waiting. The flight was delayed by 45 minutes. I was really looking forward to a new place. Croatia for whatever reason just didn't do it for me. It could have just been Zadar, or my own personal experience there. Finding my way the the train station near the hostel was relatively painless. Google skims my emails and highlights where you may have something booked. I followed that point on Google maps for Rome. When I got to the hostel, it turned out it was the wrong one. The are two Alessandro hostel locations near the train station here. F’ing Google. After settling in, I wanted to go get the pasta I had been craving. The one place nearby had a long wait, so I went to another place called Pasta Chef. It's a quasi restaurant where you give them your order at the counter and there's limiting seating. I got a Carbonara with surprisingly dense noodles. It was delicious and hit the spot. Walking through Rome at night, I can tell I'll like it even more during the day. Zadar may have been too small for my liking. I showered, wrote, got ready to check out and check in the next day. I initially only booked one night in Rome. The hostel will have to move me around due to bookings. There's a chance I may cut Portugal from my trip because it's getting to hectic and taking away the enjoyment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb