Day1:Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 4th 2013
Published: May 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok First Class LoungeBangkok First Class LoungeBangkok First Class Lounge

Green Tea in Bangkok's first class lounge


Day 1: I arrived in Rome! the flight over was amazing! I arrived at Auckland airport at about 6.45am on May 2nd and got to Rome on the 3rd May at 6.50am. 3 days of flying, so it's nice to be back on the ground again. I was very lucky and got to fly on business class on air nz and Thai airways and then first class Thai airways for the last flight. When I arrived in Bangkok they had someone greet me as soon as I got to the airport and they drove me in a little golf cart to the first class lounge. The lounge was amazing and I was given a free back massage. Except at one point in the massage I fell asleep whilst sitting up which gave the girl a huge fright because I almost fell on the floor (would have been around 4amnz time with only 1hr sleep). After the massage I could hardly stay awake. Soon after they called me to board the flight in first class! They took us directly to the plane and then greeted us with a warm welcome. They knew my name and asked about my day and then even said Kia Ora! I was very impressed! The flight started with a glass of champaign. They then gave me the menus to look at which were amazing! (look at the photos). I tried caviar for the first time but shortly after I was too full and could not make it to the main course. I realized that you could put on so much weight flying, I'm sure I put on about 2 kgs! Anyway when I was ready the flight attendant kindly made my bed up for me which I slept in most of the way to Rome (in my first class pjs). They also had an amazing breakfast which I took more photos of. I tried to eat all of this meal. When the flight finally ended all three of the flight attendants serving us went up to each of us individually and said goodbye with bowing and putting their hands together (what they do in Thailand). From then on I went to collect my bags, to my amazement made it all the way to Rome. I then bought my first purchase which was euro 2 to pay for an airport trolley. I then made my way to the taxi stand to which my driver spoke no English, so it was a very silent ride haha. Anyway he drove past Vatican City. It was hard to recognize because the walls were so high and you couldn't see in, but you knew it was there. It was funny watching all the traffic in Rome and seeing how chaotic it was. Everyone drives really fast and only inches between each car. I thought my main goal would be to not get killed whilst crossing the roads in Rome. We eventually arrived at the hotel where I got settled in. You quickly realized how privileged you were while you were flying as you at least got a nice view and hot water. My room has a view of a concrete wall and a shower that only gives out warmish water and wifi doesn't even reach the room. Anyway after I got settled I decided to go for a walk. I tried not to go too far so I wouldn't get lost but I went looking for a place I could eat. I probably went up and down the same roads about six times. The places looked all great but no one spoke English and my main dilemma was figuring out how to order the food. I eventually got enough courage to go up to the person serving the food and just pointed to the club sandwhich I wanted. Then It got a bit confusing because I wasn't sure if I should pay then or later. It looked like I was supposed to pay later but when I got up to the desk it was a different person who spoke no English. So I tried to point to where the small sandwiches were but I think I ended paying for a panini. I was thirsty at the time but had no idea how to order a glass of water. So I left and found a convenient store which i got a bottle of water and a can of coke. I decided not to go out again today as I was vey tired and didn't really know where to go. Tomorrow nakita will be with me so I can plan something a bit more exciting tomorrow 😊





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

First ClassFirst Class
First Class

My seat in first class
First Class 7First Class 7
First Class 7

My first class PJs
First Class 16First Class 16
First Class 16

View of Italy from the plane
RomeRome
Rome

The view from my hotel room.


4th May 2013

Rome
Hi Missy, Your first couple of days sound amazing, but the language barrier sounds hilarious. Can't wait to see the photos. Ciao:)
5th May 2013

Awesome!
Keep up the cool blog, I love the food ordering story! I will definitely be learning how to get water in German :p

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb