Why are my pants getting so tight????


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 24th 2011
Published: February 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Italian Marble Inlayed FloorsItalian Marble Inlayed FloorsItalian Marble Inlayed Floors

Makes my mouth water with jealousy. Stunning.
Day three in Rome. Day three of gelato. Am I sorry? Do I regret eating all this gelato? Am I going to stop after today so my pants won't get any tighter?

No. No. And no. I have the rest of my life to lose weight.

Today is Monday and the museums are closed, so I slept in a bit, noticed my pants getting tighter when I got dressed, and then made Santa Maria in Cosmedin my first stop after vowing to walk a lot today. Outside the church is Bocca Della Verita or Mouth of Truth. There is a story behind the mask of the Mouth of Truth. If you put your hand in the mouth and answer a question with a lie, it will bite your hand off. Since I was alone, I just took a picture of the mask and then put my hand inside. I made sure not to say anything. Then I went inside to the church and the first thing I noticed were the floors. Italian marble inlay in beautiful designs. Normally in these old European churches the first thing I do is look up. In Italy, I look down. Italian churches get my vote for most beautiful floors. No two designs are the same, but they are all stunning - and old. The floors in Santa Maria in Cosmedin were constructed in the 12th century, but the church was built in the 8th century. Almost no one was inside so I took a relaxed look around and paid 1 euro to go under the church to see what is supposedly the first church in Rome. It was small and plain with no paintings or statues, but it was also beautiful.

Next I walked to the metro station Circo Massimo and took it to see the Spanish Steps and Piazza Spagna. The Spanish Steps make for one of the most famous pictures in all of Rome. They are indeed beautiful and they are a meeting place for many Romans to stop and take a break and do some people-watching. I took a few pictures and decided to walk a bit to find something to eat and then come back. I walked down a street called Via Frattina which has a lot of shoe stores - and a lot of them were having big sales! I was in the danger zone here as
Italian MarbleItalian MarbleItalian Marble

floors are in all the churches.
I have a weakness for shoes - especially beautiful, well-made leather boots! I walked to the end of Via Frattina to Piazza San Lorenzo in Lucina and managed to not buy anything. There were a couple of restaurants here and I chose one that didn't sell postcards - Vitti. It was cold outside so I went inside and sat at a small table by the door. I got some funny looks, but sat down anyway. I was the only non-Italian and no tourists came in while I was eating either. I knew the price would be same inside as it was outside because the menu was the same, so I ordered a cappacino sarah or something like that, and a margherita pizza - just tomato sauce and mozzerella. My cappacino looked just like it did in the picture - a bit of strong, unbelieveably good coffee with lots of whipped cream. Real whipped cream. It was dellightful and I'm sure my eyes were wide with surprise while I ate my cappacino with a spoon. Delicious! And so was my pizza. The service here was also excellent and my waiter seemed happy with the 3 euro tip, unlike in France where they seemed offended no matter how much or how little I left. So I don't tip in France anymore. But in Italy, no one looked at me with disdain, so I always rounded up and left my change if I sat down to eat.

After I left Vitti I walked around the area taking pictures of some of the buildings and window shopping. I found a store called 'Musa' which is Enis' cousin's name and a common name in the Muslum world, so of course I took a picture. Then I wandered back to the Spanish steps and walked up them this time, only I was carrying a brand new pair of Italian leather boots purchased at 50% off and they were only one of two pairs left in the whole shop. It was my lucky day. At the top of the Spanish steps sits the beautiful and graceful Trinita dei Monti church, but I didn't go inside. I took some photos at the top of the steps and walked over the Piazza Napoleone I and then down the hill to Piazza Popolo which is impressive.

By this time it was late afternoon and I took the metro
Trinita dei MontiTrinita dei MontiTrinita dei Monti

at the top of the Spanish steps
to Termini Station and made the short walk to Santa Maria Maggiore church, although it seemed huge enough to be called a basilica. Wow. It was certainly impressive from where I was standing on Cavour, but the entrance was actually on the other side. I walked to the other side to Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore and noticed a couple of gelato places, but that would have to wait. First, I wanted to see the church. When I entered, I looked down to see another incredibly beautiful Italian marble inlayed floor, but the whole church was stunning. I've seen so many beautiful churches in Europe, but they all seem to amaze me. And I can't help but think about how much money it took to build each one and how a lot of that money came from sources that could have given it to poor people or used to help the poor in some way. But, alas, we are left with these beautiful, centuries old churches to admire, which I do, but I stopped putting money in the donation boxes long ago. I think they are doing just fine without taking money from me. When I left, there were two women
Roman ArchitectureRoman ArchitectureRoman Architecture

near the Spanish Steps
begging by the exit and believe me, if I'd had any small money I would have given it to them. The smallest I had was a 50 euro bill.

So, I walked across the street for gelato. Big mistake. I ordered 3 scoops and went to sit downstairs. Mistake. He brought my gelato and I ate it and enjoyed it immensely - chocolate, mixed berry, and vanilla. I didn't order vanilla actually. I ordered another fruit flavor and he brought the wrong thing, but it was all good and I didn't tell him. Then I went to pay. 8.50 euros!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was sure I got the wrong bill. Nope. No I didn't. I paid and vowed to never again eat gelato sitting down. It was good, but that bill left a sour taste in my mouth.

I walked back to the hotel and took many, many pictures on the way back. Everywhere you look in Rome, there is something worth taking a picture of. I was tired and it was cold, so I didn't feel like looking for a place to have dinner. I had seen a pizzeria in Trastevere that I could walk to without going too far out of my way, so I went and I was the only customer. I ordered a beer and a cheese and mushroom and sausage pizza. Once again, I got a thin, crisp crust and a delicious pizza, but this one had no tomato sauce. I was learning a lot about Italian food. In America, all pizzas have tomato sauce so it is not listed as an ingredient on the menu. In Italy, it is because not all pizzas have tomato sauce. This one didn't, and while it was a truly delicious pizza, I missed the tomato sauce.

I walked back to Orsa Maggiore, sent some email, and went to bed looking forward to more museums and more gelato tomorrow!






Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Musa is a Common Turkish NameMusa is a Common Turkish Name
Musa is a Common Turkish Name

I have a friend named Musa! This shop was closed so I don't even know what it sells.
Everything is huge in RomeEverything is huge in Rome
Everything is huge in Rome

Even the security bars
Beautiful WindowBeautiful Window
Beautiful Window

by the Spanish Steps
Trinita dei MontiTrinita dei Monti
Trinita dei Monti

church at the top of the Spanish Steps - really lovely outside. I didn't go inside.


Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1931s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb