Sky Road OMG or so I thought


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Tully Cross
June 16th 2023
Published: June 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Sky Road WAW signSky Road WAW signSky Road WAW sign

See proves it - well does not prove it but to me it does
So today we have a long drive over lots of small roads and I can still see the Sky Road on the horizon in the map. Well we wake up early and as it is quite misty I think great there is no way we need to do the sky road as why would you do this if you cannot see in front of your face - unfortunately, definitely for me, the bloody skies started clearing as we approached the sky road and macho man Mike decides we will do it then as we turn he says to me are you happy doing this - well that is like a red rag to a bull of course I am happy to DIE on the sky road.



Well let’s be honest if you do the north to the south of the Wild Atlantic Way (WAW) then you have no issue on the sky road as it is tame and I mean tame apart from times when I was going down ditches or near enough with Mike shouting I have not gone down it yet - that is what I mean YET. And anyway, for once I was on the correct side of the road, ie ditches not sheer drops!!



The views were amazing to be honest and there was a Dutch couple already at the lookout stop and I was speaking to the gentleman and he said 5 minutes before we arrived you could not see anything. They are doing the WAW south to north so I said if you think that is bad wait until you get to Donegal. If I am totally honest I know I have not seen the whole of County Galway but my favourite County at the moment is Donegal as I think it is so spectacular. I have taken a photo of the Sky Road WAW sign to prove I did go there and not talking porky pies (lies - for you non southerners out there).



We stop at Derrigimlagh which is famous for two things, Marconi and Alcock and Brown. Marconi designed and set up the first transatlantic radio station there. Alcock and Brown crash landed their biplane after flying across the atlantic non stop and were the first ever to do this from Newfoundland, Canada in 1919. Isn’t it amazing when you think of it, two first events regarding crossing the atlantic happened in one place. Whilst on the walkway we are up close and personal to bogs of peat and small lakes with amazing water lilies. At this peat bog they still cut the peat by hand and if totally honest it can look a bit of a mess.



So we get back on the road again and it is a very windy road and the motorhome is doing well but with all the windy roads and bumps up and down I am starting to feel motorhome sickness coming on. All I can think is where shall we end up for tonight as not seen any places that seem suitable to park up and the Apps I use to find places are not seeming to show anywhere.



So back to the map and I see a couple of stops I think might be suitable and one of them is called Tra an Doilin which is next to a sandy beach. So we eventually get there without me throwing up everywhere and it is a really lovely spot and only has a few cars on so it. We agreed this is where we are going to park up for the night. Now here is a piece of information about Tra an Doilin beach - it looks like it is made up of fragments of pink coral, however, it is made from tiny dead pieces of seaweed which is called marl and is a hard seaweed which is pink/purple in colour.



It was quite nice later on as most of the cars had gone and then we met a lovely lady Angela and her son (really annoyed should have remembered his name) and we had a nice chat. Angela’s son loves motorhomes and they are hiring one in July for their holiday. He knows a lot about motorhomes and it looks like he has done a lot of research on what van they have hired. Anyway Mike took them around (well thats sounds like it is massive) well showed them ours. So farewell was said to them and dinner was cooked. We were really lucky at this stop as it had picnic tables and chairs which meant we did not need to get ours out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb