Leaving Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
April 18th 2007
Published: April 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The McKenna HouseThe McKenna HouseThe McKenna House

350 years in the making
Again another quick blog but in some more pics to put up. Don’t have much time to write heaps of info (which most of you will be pleased with) but I'll give a brief description.

Monday I went and visited the place where my Great Grand Mother grew up in a small town called Howth on the coast of Ireland. There is still same family in that house, the MaKennas who have been in that one house for around 350 years now. It was great to actually spend the afternoon in the house and even got to have a roast lamb and cheesecake 😊 Myra MaKenna is the name of my Great Grand Mother her name and married Geoffrey Martin then I think moved to Aus from there. The MaKennas have been living in that one town for over 650 years now which seemed to ages. There is a internet that has more of a history about the whole name and I will put the link below.

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.com/~chrisu/howth1.htm

So I stayed in Dublin for a few nights after coming from the Dairy Farm in Ballyhinch which was a real pleasure. Can’t plan them things just real luck
On the farmOn the farmOn the farm

collecting the cattle to put in the shed for the night
that I got to go there and was brilliant to be on a farm for a couple of days. The family is fantastic and I was really lucky to stay there. In Dublin I stayed with a fantastic guy for the three nights named Rory, he is in the couchsurfing site and one of the main ppl there.

I'm now in Edinburgh and going to stay here for a few nights then head around Scotland for a couple of weeks before going to London. Going to do some hiking soon in the Scottish Mountains on the East Coast so looking forward to that!

Well I'd better go and put the photos on..



Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mountains near DublinMountains near Dublin
Mountains near Dublin

The views along the drive i went on yesterday
On the farmOn the farm
On the farm

The place I stayed at
My hostMy host
My host

Robin on the right and Rick in the middle
Cliff HouseCliff House
Cliff House

The original gate to the house
Cliff HouseCliff House
Cliff House

Took me to the other side of the world but found a photo with Nanna in it!
Cliff HouseCliff House
Cliff House

Poppa on the right side
BOAGS!BOAGS!
BOAGS!

As close as I have got but was only in a photo..


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb