Day 4?


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 5th 2010
Published: January 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Haha I need to stop counting cause i'm not going to be able to make it. so i tried to blog yesterday but it wouldn't let me, so here i'm up for another go.

a few people, especially my roommate, are starting to get homesick, and already counting down the days. I am trying to stay clear of them because they are poops and i want to stay positive. I keep thinking I only get to be here for 5ish months of my life (unless i scare my mom to death and move out here again- calm down mom just stating a point), and i need to use all that i can! complaining about being here has not even crossed my mind, I just know i am blessed to be here and need to use all the time i have.

(boring section) 1st of all school here is intense! if you are an actual student coming here you can only take your subject and you are pre-programed into a module set. you can't take any fun ones or something else that interests you. but for me and the rest of the study abroad people, we are able to take whatever we please. Like back home, there is a sort of order and the higher numbers get tougher and tougher. I am basking in my 2000 level classes while being totally bombarded with my 3000 level ones. while the 2000s only have maybe a test and a 2000word paper. one of my 3000 level classes requires a 20 min presentation, a 3000 word paper, and a final exam. but the teachers are great and the students are really helpful. it is also awesome cause rather than being in a class and having just to listen to them, here their accents add something to the mix! its quite hard to get at sometimes but lots of craic!! for instance, this morning- we were in art history class and the teacher was talking about an artist I happen to know but until the picture came up i had no idea what he was talking about since he said it with an accent which made it near indistinguishable for me, and once i figured it out i dearly wanted to laugh.

(g rated goosey) I met this REALLY hot irish boy today!! he was in my artifact studies class and was helping me figure everything out before and after class. Im not taking that class cause it is way past my level of archeology knowledge, but i considered it just for him :D (Im sure my mother really wanted to hear that! hehe) he was so nice though and even walked me out of class (yes total girl response- but hes gorgeous and irish- give me a break)

(randoms) on another note, i audited 5 classes today to see which ones i wanted to take, so i am totally wiped out. but im going to go out to a pub tonight with my favorite roommate and a few of her friends! her name is kasey, shes catholic and plays vball at her school, awesome!!

-i was so excited i had fish and chips today, finally, since Ive been craving it for months, but it tasted like a donut which was not what i was after. and i was and still am totally freaked out by the sensation.

-at the orientation yesterday a guy from the catholic group here (called the chaplaincy) told us about their trip to ardmore this weekend, so i looked it up and went to visit them today and for 5 euro they are taking us there for the day (saturday) and i think two of my roommates are going with me. its about an hour away and the 1st christian settlement in ireland, you can look it up its quite gorgeous!

-so it flooded here before the break, a lot of things are still out of operation, including the gym :,( they say it wont be back until mid February but thankfully they are giving us vouchers to somewhere else, so yay! (yes i got kind of obsessed with going over the break, blame the week passes!)

-so i also figured out today that the irish buildings are not insulated and in fact actually colder than outside, so Im having to keep on all of my layers and sit in class like a jittery puppy (sorry for yelling at you for shaking your leg mel, i now know the benefit). but luckily other than me being the only international student in my classes i chose, every student is also bundled and shivering. (yes mom, i will listen to you and go get a coat, when i have a free moment)

oh and rache i have the dates for excursions ill send them to you tomorrow (and mom yes ill fill you in too <3)

so i think thats it, i might remember more in which case ill respond soon. oh im starting to think with an irish accent and random irish words, hopefully that will translate to my speech soon. k night night and enjoy your day since its only 1 there.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb