day 2


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last night,I met 2 of my apartment mates. Both are really nice and both american. My roommate is from Ohio and her name is Lara. she is really nice but still not as great as mine back home! The other girl is named Kate and she is from Boston. We haven't met the last girl yet but she should be here soon? My bed is super comfortable and almost a double. I was a little cold but thanks to our heater I was sweltering after a few hours. The shower was a trip, I had to turn on the heat pully so that the water heater will turn on then I had to get into this tiny shower that I barely fit in. But thankfully the water was BLISSFULLY heated and super warm and actually never started to get cold, which I fully expected. But then I had to open the doors to the freezing room (so not cool).

So I slept really badly last night, I woke up almost every hour and couldn't go back to bed for at least a half hour. I guess thats what I get for sleeping so much on the planes. But I feel functional so hopefully I'll be able to sleep better tonight.

However, today was awesome! Well let me just start by saying geeze its cold here!!! I wore thermals today under jeans, a tank, a long sleeve shirt, a thin sweater, a flannel shirt, a jacket, a scarf, a woolish beanie and gloves and I was ok but still a tad chilly. HOLY MOLY thats too cold! It was about 4 or 5 degrees C and that was at 10 in the morning when the sun should have been up. But anyway, we met with our CEA director Aimie, she was really great. she explained a bunch of random stuff about ireland and school and took us around the campus, its small but so cute! I'm putting in some pics and seriously no trick of the camera, it really is that green and it really is that traditionally amazing. the only problem is that it was so cold that the rain on the streets and footpaths froze and so all of us were skating around. We then went for a mini driving tour of the city. then went to get brunch at 12pm, which was much wanted since the last I had eaten was breakfast on the plane the day before. I had french toast and bacon (can't remember the name of bacon here). It was interesting 😊 The french toast was in slivers and the syrup was really really sweet and strong- SO GOOD- but definitely not what we are used to in the US. the bacon was very very weird. It was more like smoked ham than bacon, so it was really strong. Oh and I had tea!!!! my favorite!!!!!! I was told that they only have full bodied teas not any herbal kind, which anyone who knows me, knows that is like music to my ears! So I had my earl gray tea with creme. :D and I was SO happy!

we then went back to my place where I proceeded to unpack all of my stuff. THANK GOD I didn't pack anymore, there is no storage and no drawers but all my stuff miraculously fit, at least until I start to pull everything out. I get one half of the closet size I am used to and no shelves or anything on the desk and no storage space in the bathroom. YIKES this is going to be interesting.

My CEA girls,my roommate and I decided we wanted to go on an adventure to find the grocery store and towels and stuff. We found it! and it was so normal, it was incredible. I had to buy water because the water out of the sink is SO clorinated that its undrinkable as an actual drink except for taking pills or something. So after giving my mom a huge lecture about how she needed to get a reusable waterbottle and drink out of the filtered water or the sink, I am now forced to be a water bottle buyer :'( All of Ireland has this awesome rule though that you have to buy your bags, so it forces everyone to use reusable ones or cleverly place them in their backpacks. YAY for eco-friendly actions!! I am so excited to go back and get stuff to make meals, all I got so far was pasta and sauce for my dinner. Things are really expensive here compared to america but in proportion of their euro, so a meal is like 11euro and a movie ticket is 9.50 euro. if you think in dollars its the same in the Us but haha no its not. and yes they do have a cinema here, which is actually only a block from my apartment, but apparently the movies come out much later here so I might be home before movies come out here that are out now in the US.

It is so cool here!!! they still have the lights up from the holidays on the main street (st patricks) which i stupidly forgot my camera and will have to go back tomorrow to show you all. but ya its amazingly gorgeous. so strange though, they have mcdonalds, gap, claires and a few other really random american stuff. we are right next to a place that looks like papa johns- definitely strange! but there is a church like every block! which is sweet!!! and my apartment mate is catholic so she said i could tag along with her and her friends when she goes, yay for religious community support!

but ya thats it for now. i might go to a pub tonight but we will have to see, i need to go make myself some food cause im starving its almost 7pm here (so at least im hungry at the right time my jet lag isnt that bad)? 😊

ok well night to you all in the us, good luck those that are starting school tomorrow and going back to work tomorrow! hope all goes well!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

the fridgethe fridge
the fridge

its about half the size of a normal fridge and double a small one- for 4 people... we shall see how that works out?
the sinkthe sink
the sink

and yes mom, thats soap!


3rd January 2010

yayyy!! it was so good to read all this! your apartment is like mini! lol but very cute! hope its all going well today at SCHOOL!!:)
3rd January 2010

day 2
Hey, Thanks for all the info it looks beautiful. Sounds like it will be a great place to study. We wish you the best....have FUN!!
4th January 2010

TMI
Didn't need to see the toiley........
4th January 2010

The campus looks amazing!! Thanks so much for posting pictures! And is there really a pub on campus?? That's insane!! It looks like you are having an amazing time so far!
4th January 2010

haha ya there so is! but here they are also restaurants as well as a bar, so if you think about it that way. it kind of makes sense?
5th January 2010

Nice pictures
It's been great to follow your adventure. Could you use an electric blanket ??
5th January 2010

woohoo!
Wow - amazing! I'm so glad that it is a success so far! I'm also sooo sorry I missed all of your emails. I was in New Zealand! But I'm trying to work out when I can come visit you and am writing through this because I don't know when you're going to check your email. haha Have tons of fun and I can't wait to read more!
6th January 2010

I don't really need it, its plenty warm in my room. And an electric blanket wouldn't really help me around the streets and in class.
8th January 2010

Beautiful!
Hey!! So im getting caught up on your blog (beginning of the quarter...and yes i am using that as an excuse, even though you are adjusting to a foreign country, starting a new semester, AND writing this blog) But really, it (your campus) looks beautiful!!!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb