Ireland the South Day 10


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Carrigaline
September 19th 2016
Published: September 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 10
I have to confess that this trip is turning out to be a marathon. I grossly underestimated the terrain, which is like Cornwall with steep hills, some of which are not that short. I am surprised that my body is sustaining it all. My right leg was letting me know of its weakness this afternoon so I had to slow down a bit on the hills and pull a lower gear. I will have legs like Chris Hoy by the time I get home and I will be leaving everyone for dead. Regardless of the toughness the area is still beautiful and changing every day. Today I saw milk cow country and also quite a bit of arable land with grain and also beans. The coast is less rocky and there are many sandy beaches with only a handful of people on them. The estuaries are often several kilometres long and full of wading birds. Swans, herons, oyster catchers, fulmers, cormorants, egrets and godwits just to name those I know. Great to see but it does slow you down somewhat stopping to see them feeding. Sorry I have no photos since they are on my camera with no internet connection. I stopped at Leap for a brew this morning where someone on horseback is reputed to have jumped the waterfall. I passed through Skibbereen, which is, I think the southernmost town in Ireland. Near here I passed a large graveyard which houses the mass graves of those who died in the great potatoe famine of 1845 to 1850. Along the coast there were quite a number of derelict houses with many half built and abandoned. From here I travelled along the south coast through Ross Carbery, Clonakilty and the beautiful Kinsale before stopping for the night in Carrigaline.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement






Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb