Ireland The South Day 8


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Beara Pen
September 17th 2016
Published: September 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Ireland Day 8
Gee what a day. 150km with over 1500m of climbing. Luckily it was a dry day and a wind that helped and hindered, as it does when you keep gping along the peninsulas east and west. I completed the Skellig Ring, which is an amazing area. I rejoined the Ring of Kerry at Waterville, where I made my first mistake of the day and went up a wrong road. I returned to Waterville and had a brew and long sausage roll, which seems to be my favourite snack from the supermarkets, along with a made up ham salad sandwich for later. I stuck to the Ring of Kerry route for most of the day and on the occasions I didn't I regretted it due to the big hills which are not just quite as appetising with two loaded panniers on. One guy on a lightweight passed me on a long hill out of Lauragh like I was stopped - just showing off - or perhaps I was stopped. Some of the bays are very pretty with big rocks, sandy coves crashing, rolling waves and few people there to see it all. There seem to be a lot of Americans here with one lady in the pretty town of Blackwater Bridge wanting to take my photo by my bike. Further on, as I was snapping a heron from the jetty, I was accosted by two laughing German girls who were amazed that they had seen me six times today at various towns and places. They kept saying ’hey there is that cycling man’. They insisted on a selfie with me, shame I forgot to get a copy myself as they were bonny girls against an old geyser like me. I am still amazed by the painted houses and had to photograph those in Ardgroom where almost all were painted in every colour known to man. I could see that going down well on Clitheroe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Charlie ChaplinCharlie Chaplin
Charlie Chaplin

Waterville


Tot: 0.471s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb