Trier


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
March 29th 2009
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A view into the cityA view into the cityA view into the city

We climbed to the top of Porta Nigra..the gate to enter Trier
I can not believe I have been here for 5 weeks!! Time is going by so fast and there is so much I want to see and do before I leave! These past few weeks have been filled with school Monday through Friday, but thankfully this Friday is the exam for the German course!! I can't wait to be done! Next week I start my regular class schedule which includes my 2 economics courses. Next weekend I am going to London with 3 friends from my exchange group!! I am also going to visit a friend from a summer camp i worked at who lives near London! Let's see..last weekend was a blast! We went with our group of 30 people to Trier, the oldest city in Germany! We took a 4 hour train to Trier..Saturday was a perfect and sunny day! The nicest since I've been here..we went to a dome where they used to have fights and show plays and saw some beautiful old churches. I did have one bad fall last Saturday which left me with multiple bruises on my arms and legs..looks like i got in fight! :-0 We also ended up eating at this place called Louisiana which had some really tasty "American food."

This past week was pretty uneventful..went out a couple nights to Schwartswies..the student bar..then Friday night we went to Unix. This is a dance club, but I really like it because it's small and has tons of students! Good place to meet people! Last night we went to the "Re-Beatles" concert which was so much fun! Imagine singing the beatles songs with tons of Germans and the band is even German! Nothing like beatles with an accent! And today, Sunday, is usually pretty dead...most shops are closed but today was the Spring festival in the Oberstadt-old town. All the shops were open and lots of sales! Oh and I have a new favorite restaurant called Paprika! They have a dish called "Aufläufe". AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! We ate dinner there after we finished shopping. The next entry will be after London and hopefully I have good news of passing my German exam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Train ride to TrierTrain ride to Trier
Train ride to Trier

Playing cards!
Karl Marx HouseKarl Marx House
Karl Marx House

We went to the house Karl Marx was born in.


Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb