The journey never ends...


Advertisement
Europe
April 20th 2009
Published: April 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is the first opportunity I have had to update my blog! I have been traveling different parts of Europe the past two weeks! Well to start off I am happy to announce I passed the intensive German class!! The day I finished that exam I left for London with 3 friends I met in here. We left on a Friday, April 3rd and stayed until Tuesday. We tried to go cheaply with Ryanair which turned out to be such an annoying and LONG process!! We had to take a train to Frankfurt then catch a bus to the Frankfurt Hahn aiport, which is an old airport almost two hours from Frankfurt! We miscalculated how long it would take to get there and ended up having to take a 150 Euro taxi at the last minute in order to make our flight! Then once we arrived in London we had to take a bus into Frankfurt...So really we didn't save that much by flying this cheap airlines. We arrived around midnight in London and realized none of us knew where exactly our hostel was so we had to call and the guy running the hostel came and rescued us from the streets! The first night in London we were all starving so we went to the only place only which was this fried chicken place and we all had a beer at our hostel "The Best Place." It had a 24 hour bar and a restuarant called the Green Man. It was a really great place to stay..my only complaint was the nasty bathrooms! I've never been more disgusted! Anyways..second day in London we saw the London Eye, Parliament, and went shopping for a wzhile near Piccadilly! I had to use MAJOR self-control not to buy all the amazing clothes in London!! Then Saturday night was our crazy night! We started out at our hostel doing some kareoke to Spice Girls and Ice Ice Baby! Then we went had a really fun night out on the town. On Sunday we did the British Museum for couple of hours and then ate at this amazing Japanese place where I finally had SUSHI! I have been craving it since I got to Germany! Then we layed low and ended the night at a traditional British pub. Our last day in London we made sure to eat at a "fish and chips" pub where I had Bangers and Mash without the banger..was quite tasty! Then went to the Tate modern Museum..where we lost one of our friends for a couple of hours! We finally met her later at our hostel and made it to the London Bridge and then went on a scary tour of London. We saw different sites where people were killed or where people saw ghosts. After the tour we decided it would be a good idea to stay up all night because we would have to be up at 4am to catch our early bus to the airport! So we went out dancing..ended up being a VERY long night and we made our flight..oh and to top everything off I had a presentation for my German culture class that next day!! So after staying up all night I got back with 10 minutes to spare..ran to class..and explained to my Professor that I was too tired/sick to present so he did the presentation for me!! I had prepared a powerpoint in advance and sent it to him, but I have never been that lucky!!! So that was my trip to London in a nutshell! It was amazing and I want to move to England after graduation!!

My next adventure was my trip with my exchange group to Berlin. I had two days between London and Berlin to recover..we left that Thursday! We had to take a 6 hour bus to Berlin and when we arrived we went to a pub to eat. Many of us wanted to go out, but had no idea where to go so we tried this one club that had music we could hear from outside. Bad idea! It turned out to be a grunge rock concert with some strange head-banging people! But it was a completely new experience for me! On Friday we started the day out with a 4 hour walking tour of the city led by our teacher..we saw many of the cites from WW2 including where Hitler's Bunker was and the Reichstag building. Then we went the Sachsenhausen concentration camp about 1 hour from Berlin. The one we saw was more of a working camp rather then a execution camp, but at least 30,000 died. Visiting these grounds were really hard for me to see. We saw where the people slept and bathed as well as the remains of the execution rooms. By Friday night all this traveling started catching up with me..I came down with a cold and cough. Needless to say, I didn't go out with everyone that night. Saturday morning, we had a presentation in the parliament building..it was in German so I didn't understand much of what the lady said! After that I had to leave the trip a few days early because Sunday I had to leave to meet my mom in Austria!!

Sooo Sunday I continued my traveling journey to St. Johann Pongau in Austria. It was about an hour by train from Salzburg. I left Marburg at 2pm and met my mom at our hotel at around midnight. It was a really cute ski and sports town! And the weather was absolutely beautiful! Kind of strange seeing snow on the tops of the mountains surrounding the city and wearing shorts and sweating! Our first day we traveled to Salzburg, where we did the Sounds of Music tour. It was really great! We did a 4 hour bus tour to all the major scenes from the movie! The next day we took a day to enjoy the town where our hotel was..did a little shopping..nothing too big! Then the next day we went to a nearby town, Innsbruck. It was such an adorable town! It had great shopping too! My mom had her first doner here! I was so proud! The next day we went into Germany to visit Munich! This is one of my favorite cities I've visited!! We did a bus tour to the Olympic Stadium there. We visited the English Gardens here as well as saw some of the great buildings! This city has so much history..We finished our day here at the famous Haufbrauhaus!! It is one of the best restaurants..great food and atmosphere! I had this amazing desert! It was a sweet bread covered in this delicious creamy sauce! mmmmm! So Saturday I had quite the experience on my journey back to Marburg! We left our hotel at 2am..I left my mom on our train and had to find an open seat in these little sleep rooms. The conductor saw me searching hopelessly for a open seat so he found me a seat with the most creepy men ever!! I got stuck with 2 older men who didn't speak any english. The one sitting next to me kept asking me weird questions like if I have a boyfriend or if my rings were real silver? And lucky for me he would be going all the way to Frankfurt too! To top this weird night off, our train cart was checked by the police!! We all had to show our passports and got searched! As soon as the first train got to Munich, where I had to change trains, I RAN got out of there!! Once I got back to Marburg, I crashed because I was completely exhausted! Of course word was our that I made it back so my friends convinced me to go out with them Saturday night!!

And that brings me to day, my first day of real classes! I had no idea where either of my classes were, but thankfully I met someone on the bus who was in both of my economic classes!! My instructor wasn't even there so we had substitutes for both. Now I am preparing for another week gone! I leave AGAIN tomorrow to meet my mom in Ibiza, an island in Spain. Recently found out that this is the number one party city in Europe!! hah should be interesting!! I will be back next Saturday!! Auf wiedersehen! Love you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb