Touchdown in Frankfurt


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
March 5th 2024
Published: March 6th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Touchdown in Frankfurt

March 5, 2024

Kirsten and I scanned all the European flights leaving JFK and the best option was Frankfurt. So, as I’m finishing my second glass of Rioja, I’ll type out a few lines.

I watched a great romcom, “She Came to Me” while eating dinner. I read a few chapters in my new book “The 3 Body Problem”.

Now I’m going to put this seat into sleep mode and try to get some sleep. Kirsten is already out and I’m going to be asleep soon.

Wake up Mr. Vaughan, woah... that was a rough flight and I only got about 2 hrs of sleep. I felt like we were riding on brick roads in downtown Orlando. Kirsten slept like a baby.

We had breakfast and as they were taking away my tray, the pilot announced we were landing. That was even rough.

We exit the plane, into the gangway and it was freezing. Not only is it raining, it’s COLD! We make our way through passport control. Such a breeze when Kirsten just walks up, smiles, and breaks into perfect German. Her and the passport person act like long lost friends, she gets her passport stamped and leaves me standing there. I’m looking at the gal and I just point toward the way Kirsten left and I get the impression she doesn’t believe me.

Finally, Kirsten peaks her head around the booth and says in German of course “Ja, er ist bei mir” ...did you get that?

The passport gal shakes her head, stamps my passport, and waves me through.

For all of you German speaking friends... Kirsten said “Yes, he’s with me”.

Ok, onto the next hurdle, picking up the car rental. In Germany, picking up a car rental is one major effort. Even though I paid for it online when I ordered, I’m required to put in all the information along with a sample of my blood, we still are put through the same rigorous process.

They always ask who is driving and insist on pointing out ..this is a NEW car and don’t put any excess miles on the car, are you driving outside of the country, you must use gasoline NOT diesel.

Ok, ok, we get it.

Finally, Kirsten just smiles and guy behind the counter hands over the keys and off we go.

The guy stops Kirsten and asks do you know where the pickup location is?

Kirsten starts describing the pickup location at Stuttgart’s airport, I immediately step in and describe where the cars in Frankfurt are located.

He tells Kirsten, follow him, Kirsten smiles at him as she walks away jingling the keys.

Yes, we have a brand-new VW Golf, with only 22 KM on it. It’s a six speed, it has apple car play.

Kirsten starts the car pulls out of the parking spaces and promptly stalls the car. All the parking lots attendants are watching and shaking their heads.

Ok, we’re outside of the airport I’m typing as fast as I can to enter Triberg into apple maps, which is in the Black Forest. All along, Kirsten is pushing all the buttons trying to turn on the heater.

Finally, we’re on the road going in the correct direction, heading south and the temp in the car is good and it’s starting to rain harder.

An hour later, we are weaving through the mountains and valleys of the Black Forest. We finally found an open restaurant that had a view that Kirsten approved.

We sit down and order beers and kase spaetzle and a bowl of potato soup. Delicious!

I’m looking for a Gast Haus and Kirsten is checking the weather. Kirsten squeals “It’s supposed to snow tonight in the Black Forest”. She grabs my computer and takes over finding a Gast Haus close by so we/she can see snow tomorrow.

Really, Snow?!?!

Ok, the Gast Haus is reserved and were back on the road toward the house. We arrive check in and it’s time for a nap. It’s 4 pm here now. Kirsten has found a restaurant 2 mile away. So, we have time for a good 2-hour nap.

It’s 6:30 pm were both up and heading to the restaurant. We get there and as always; they ask if we have reservations? THE RESTAURANT is EMPTY!?!?

Kirsten politely answers no in German starts chit chatting with the host. Before I know it, she is taking us to a table. Our meal was delicious and we’re back in the car heading to our room. Yea, that time change is catching up with us and we’re ready for bed.

Oh! I forgot .... Where were you March 6, 2004

Gute Nacht

Steve & Kirsten


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb