German People Are Nice, Maps not So Much...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
February 22nd 2010
Published: February 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

What an interesting and tiring day.

After going to bed early and waking up early, (aka Jet Lag), I took the S-Bahn to Marienplatz, a very beautiful square which has a very cool neo-gothic town hall and it has a glockenspiel which is a mechanical clock. It has some little show at 11 and 12 supposedly but I missed it when I got there. Before, when I wasn't sure which train to take on the S-Bahn, a nice german showed me which one to take.

After chilling at a cafe I walked around and did some souvenir shopping on my to the Residence Museum. I brought myself a new purse and a postcard. I got another postcard to send home and a snowglobe for my little sister. I stay away from some of the other shops like Prada and Burberry because I felt it would be to expensive to even walk in.

Eventually I ended up at the museum, (ok, it didn't take me that long, maybe a half an hour). I thought it would be cool to go their because since I became interested in The Tudors, I also started to become interested in learning about other royalty and such from different countries and time periods. So this was definitely became a place for me to go because it was where the Dukes, Electors and Kings of Bavaria lived when they were reining. I spent a good three hours using the audio guide in every room.

Next I headed up north again to Odeonplatz square where the Feldhernhalle was built to commemorate Bavaria's ever-unsuccessful military commanders, (weird, eh?). This is also where Hitler's "Beer Hall Putsch" was stopped. After I went to another cafe called the San Francisio Coffee Company to have a muffin and a hot chocolate because it was a little cold outside.

Later I went to the Cinema and I did eventually made it there but I got lost again because I didn't double-check the directions, took the wrong exit of of the U-Bahn and I needed to go to the bathroom. I I eventually found a restaurant called Natalie's and I thought maybe I could go eat as well because I was hungry at that point. Well I went in and a gentlemen there told me that the restaurant was closed because their was a birthday party going on. I said fine but I could please use the bathroom because I had to go badly. He said sure and pointed me into the right direction which I was surprised, because I thought that he would shew me away but didn't. After I left I still got lost so I consulted my maps, (one from the Tourist Information Centre and a freebie one). I eventually I found which way to find the cinema and an Asian restaurant to try. But when I got to the right street, I didn't find the restaurant and the movie times were either too early or too late, (thinking now though, I could of looked at the wrong date). Oh, well.

I headed back to the Munich Central Train Station and had McDonald's just to see how different it was from back home. I had a Big Mac combo. The fries were disgusting so I sauced it up Quebecois style, (ketchup and mayo), but the Big Mac was delicious, (I think they used real meat here because it certainly tastes different then back home), and I had a Diet Coke which was really good as well.

Tomorrow I'm going to take it easy but not with visiting the Hard Rock Cafe first.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb