Arles, I lost and found my computor


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 19th 2010
Published: June 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I've been out of contact for two days, but I'm safe and every things good, I forgot my computer in the last camp site in Nimes, and had to go back and get it today.
Yesterday I was driven to Arles by William, the very sweet and very young cutie pie who was my neighbor at the camping Bastide. As soon as I got to Camping des Roseies just out side of Arles, I put up my tent and caught the first bus into town. Wow this place is beautiful. There's so much history here. The sky, the buildings, the views and the people are beautiful and and have so much character. I got to the center of Arles and walked up the street and turned left, and there before me was a square with an Egyptian Obelisk, the renaissance town hall, a roman church and an medieval church with kids on bmxs and skate boards, a gypsy band playing, and loads of local people sitting around enjoying the evening. I started to draw the town hall and people kept coming up and talking to me and patting me on the shoulder and one guy handed me an ice cold beer... It was really nice. There an elderly man of about 60, Henry, came up and started to tell me about the the building I was drawing and it's secrets in the architecture, he explained that there were aspect of the building which people today could never copy or understand, he looked after my things and I went in side to have a look, there's an amazing hall with a vaulted ceiling, Henry, explained that normally in vaulted ceiling there is a key stone which holders it all up, and that nobody can find which one it is in that design. It turns out that Henry was part of an association which studies the history of the town of Arles, lucky me, I found every thing he said amazing, it's so much nicer to go to some where beautiful and have a guide who can really explain it's history.
I did two drawings, then Henry invited me to his cousins restaurant which was next to the the Arena. As we walked to the restaurant he told about the diversity of cultures here. From cave dwelling Celt and Dreweds and German Barbarians, to Romans and Moors, Gothic and medieval, and renaissance. All that history and culture is every where in little curving and murals and hiding behind ivy, you just have to know where to look. I feel very lucky to have met Henry, loves to talk about his town and show it off.
Today, I woke up early and went back to Nimes to collect my Computer and when I finally found my way back to Arles, I went to draw the Arena and bumped in to Henry who was at his cousins restaurant, He said that he would love to take me to the Chateau Beaux which is 15km away, and beautiful medieval town with a chateau perching on a mountain, I was too tired to go but I said I would love to tomorrow. He said he would organize it and we could have a meal with some artist friends who live near there. Fantastic!
Well I'm very tired today and I think I'll go and draw what I plan to paint tomorrow morning then go back to the camping and sleep, I can't wait for tomorrow I can feel it's going to be an amazing day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb