Stroms all around the camp site


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
June 17th 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was a cool gray day but with all the promise of being quite sunny at any moment, I went and talked to my boy friend and mum for a while at the cafe. My mum said that 15 people were killed last night in flash floods on a camping not too far away.
As I went into Nimes the sun came out and the clouds evaporated. I went to the contemporary art museum, Carré d'Art-Musée it was built by Sir Norman Foster the guy who built the gherkin in London, I didn’t find it to be a life changing experience, but there was one or two paintings which were interesting, I felt the collection was badly curate. The building is see-through which is cool, there’s a huge library down stairs as you walk up and down the stairs you can see into other floors.
I then went drawing again, I did about 10 drawings, as I was walking through the gardens I heard one guy telling his friend I was a painter and quite good to, then I went to a cafe which is in the Jardin de Fountain and the waiter said oh you’re going to do a drawing here, and that he’d seen me around, I gave me a postcard and he gave me a free coffee… Nimes is big and small at the same time, the people really pay attention to you and talk all the time and touch your shoulder in a friendly fashion, I think if I came back here after my travels I could do well for a while giving lessons and just selling postcards and prints of my work to tourists…
Got back to the camping and sat and talk to my Neighbor William for a while, he said he was going to Marseille on Friday and that If I liked he’d drop me off in Arles on his way, this is great because I won’t have to pack up my paintings which are still a little wet , YEY ! I chilled out in the cafe and spent a few hours playing chess with my love, it got really over cast and the sky started to rumble. With the thought of flash floods and dead body floating in camp sites as I walked back to my tent it started to sheet rain, I packed everything up in my tent in case I had leave quickly and watching the lighting flash from inside lighting my tent up like a lighten. We seemed to be surrounded by storms; it was very beautiful and quite scary. I kept waking up thinking water was coming into my tent but I was fine, just strange dreams.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb