Les Beaux a chateau in the mountains


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Arles
June 21st 2010
Published: June 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was windy all night long, the tent was going back and forth, so I don't think I got much sleep. I walked to Arles because there are hardy any buses on Sundays. I was carrying two big long canvases which acted like sails in the wind. I got to the internet cafe and talked to my love then Henry called me and announced that he would be there shortly to take me site seeing. He met my mother and love through skype.
We drove out into the Provence and he stopped the car every now and again to show me an Roman Aqueduct hidden in the olive trees, or to smell some wild herbs, lavender rosemary, or thyme. The views here are beautiful and although Henry kept saying the weather was terrible for the time of year, it was sunny, but windy and all I could see with how lovely it was. The corn waving and rippling in the wind, the Cypress trees dancing, and the shadows of the clouds rolling with stony hills. The colors of the Provence are amazing what ever the weather.
As we got to Les Beaux, which is a medieval town on top of a rocky hill, Henry said there were too many tourists so he'll take me to a special place he went as a kid to look at the town for above, we drove to the top of the hill an went to sit amongst the rocks, which have been carved by the elements into abstract round and feminine shapes. And there I saw the Provence and far in the distance the Camargue and then the sea. Words can not describe how beautiful it was, we sat and watch and listen to the poetry of the view for a good hour, talking about nature and the history of Les Beaux.
The king of Les Beaux thought himself to be strong enough to take over Arles in the dark ages. Instead of sending his army he sent a note to Arles saying, why fight when we both know who'll win, just give me your land. Arles sent it's army to Les Beaux and surround the little town on the hill, setting Seage for 2 months, starving them, then slaughter every one who did not want to fight for them.
It was cool to imagine it happening before my eyes as Henry pointed to where the armies came from and camped.
Henry asked me if I had seen any animals whist we had been sitting, I remember perhaps one bird. He said that since lots of tourists had started to come to the area the nature of the land had started to die. The wild herbs were almost all gone, and animals who once ruled the countryside had disappeared. He it was sad to see all these tourist who don't care about what they see destroying what he loved so much.
With that we left and he took me to St Remy a Roman arch de triomphe and tower from the 25BC stood in a grass place, I drew them and was told that they were built when one of the Roman Emperors two children were kill.
Henry took me back to Arles and I went to draw and paint the Arena, Henry brought friends for his to met me and talk about the town and places I should paint, the people are so natural here and good hearted.
Henry asked if I would like to go to a beach tomorrow ,The wild beach, with birds and wild animals and beautiful place to paint... How can I refuse!
The wind has not let up and a waiter told me it's going to be like this for a few days...
I quite like it, the people here are all covered with jumpers and coats but it's warm for me. The sun set was amazing again, I hope to capture it before I go.
Purple pink peach apricot green navy blue red golden yellow orange, reflecting in the Rhone river and on the stone buildings... breath taking.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb