Last day in Arles


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Arles
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

The wind was to strong to go to the beach today, so I went to paint in Arles. I finished the painting of the Arena then went Henry's house to drop off one painting and pick up another canvas.
Henry has given me the key to his home, people hardy ever lock their door here even though there is a big Gypsy culture and a lot of thieves. Henry said that if you leave your door open it's because you have nothing to steal, and people only want what is coveted.
I then went to paint the town hall and Obelisk and roman church in the spot that I met Henry a few days ago. Today is the solstice the longest day of the year and the French have their festival of music which goes all night long, all over France. Musicians are legally allowed to play in the street.
A lot of the music was bad, very bad, but some groups were absolutely amazing. it took me about 3 hours to do the painting, which I'm very happy with. Then I took the painting back to Henry's and we had a meal with his sister and and girlfriend of his who is a prostitute gypsy. She was very beautiful and I did a drawing of her. Prostitution is not frowned upon in the same way here and she had a porousness about her. She was seductive with out be needy and I did not find her to be Gross in her manners. She talked to her clients on the phone and seduced them in a very charming way. Henry put some music on and she dance and swade to the music, she had a long skirt and a shirt which was see through at her middle, curly black hair almond eyes and round high cheek bones, she wore hardly any make up. She was naturally beautiful and full of life and love. As we talked, when I said some thing she liked she touched my shoulder or face sweetly. I walked home with Henry along the river and we watched the sunset fill the sky and waters with it's colors.
The wind buffered us about and Henry was like a small child running and laughing in the places where the wind was siphoned and it was hard to move.
I have decided to go to Marseille tomorrow, time to move on. The wind is to strong here and it's not easily do painting. I think I will come back a visit Henry and beautiful Arles again one day, perhaps bring my Love here. The people and culture and history are well worth taking the time to get to know.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb