Going to Marsellie


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's lest windy today but chilly none the less. I walk into Arles and went to get my paintings from Henry's home. When I got there I was greeted by Henry who had prepared an early lunch and asked if I would like to join him, the generosity and peaceful easy going way of his is very refreshing. We had stack and home made chips with wild thyme.
I took apart my paintings and as I did Henry told me about his youth. As a child he worked with his dad making guns and traps for hunting. when he was 23 he married a gypsy stripper who danced all over Europe so he traveled with her. He was also a Bank robber for a while a got away with quite a lot but went to prison for 15 years and as he talked he showed me photos and papers proving every thing he said. A different Henry from the one I met and who told me about the history of his town, and showed me the beaux and hills of the Provence. An interesting man indeed.
Henry drove me back to the camp site and we said good bye, he invited me and my boy friend to come and site him when ever we wished.
I packed up and got the bus to town, I asked the lady driver if she went to the bus station, she said no, but seeing as there wasn't anyone on the bus that she'd make a special stop, WOW!
I took the bus to Marseille and arrived in the center of town around 4 in the afternoon. As you walk out of the station you are greeted with an amazing view. you are high up on a hill looking down a big Avenue you can see the mountain surrounding Marseille and alot of the city, The hostel was a bus ride and a short walk, I'm going to be sleeping a bed, which will be a nice change. I got booked in and put my stuff away and safe then went out to paint the sun set at the beach.
There's no wind here, and hardly clouds, I painted the islands which are in front of Marseille and the sinking sun which didn't make as many colors not like in Arles but the rays of the sun were an interesting thing to try and capture.
I'm going to sleep very well tonight.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb