Ahhh Marseille!!!


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I haven't had a chance to go on to internet in the last two days so let me fill you in on what's be going on.
My first night in the hostal, having a good shower before going to bed and sleeping in a real bed, felt like I was sleeping deeply at the bottom of the sea. I woke at 7.30 and jumped out of my bunk-bed and realised my back was feeling great, I had a long cool shower and went for breakfast which is payed for in the price of the youth hostel. Every one is very nice here and says good morning with a smile, I found my self grinning at everyone they were all so pretty and well dress, Swiss blonds and geeky Americans, cute Koreans, and pompus British, what fun!
I started my walk along the beach, Marseille stretches along the coast. I started walking left and kept walking until I came into a quiet part of town where there appeared to be only locals, I hear families talking loudly out of their windows and fisherman laughing in the port. I went into the only cafe there and had a coffee the people were amused that a tourist had many it there and made confusation as soon as I sat down. I told them that I was walking the coast painting and drawing and I showed them some drawings from my book. They were lovely and sweet and told a few place I should go to tranquilly away from the crowd. One of the man said he'd take me to a good view. We walked through tiny streets and to the waters edge and there was a small ledge to walk on, he pointed in that direction and said keep walking until you find a place you want to draw it's all beautiful, like you. He winked and was off back to the bar. I walked for a bout 10 mins and came to a morring for boats. I was alone and in shade, I draw about 3 or 4 drawings then went for a long swim, the water was cool and very clear. I stayed until there was no more shade then I walked back. As I past the cafe the people came out to see the drawings I had done and patted me on the back. They said come back any time.
My brothers boyfriends mother, Denise who lives in Marseille, whom I had never met, called me and asked if I would like to go to a play she was performing in that night. Fantastic ! I was picked up by the girl who worked the door and her sweet daughter who was about 13. I said I was an artist and she said oh hang on, and made a right and a left and suddenly we came to a round about with the sculpture by Caesar of the artists thumb. Wow! she said I thought you'd like that.
We got the theater and all the actors were sitting out side have a bite to eat and a little cafe before the performance, they handed me a cafe and told me about the play I was about to see. A play based in Basque country, in a factory where it was illegal to smoke so the workers would met on the roof to smoke. A sexy play with a dark humor. Then Denise came out and I introduce my self, she said she'd heard a lot about me, I had heard she wrote a produced plays and I was honored to be invited to one.
The actors got ready and I waited out side with the rest of the public, about 80 people showed up, it was a quite small theater. the set was simply a few pipes and railings which gave a industrial feel.
The actors were great and very funny. I really enjoyed my self and was totally absorbed into the play.
I was invited to the after party, and had a great time giving compliments to actors and actresses. Denise asked me if I would like to go dinner the next night with her daughter, of course! wow.
I was taken back be the same lady buzzing from the evening events and giggling with the champagne and rose wine.
I slept well again and woke up too late for breakfast, so I walked to the baker's and got food for the day... I walked to the right along the coast this time I walked for a good hour or more past lodes of great views. I went into cafes and restaurants and asked if I could do a painting but got No's every I went. So with no shady place to draw for 20 mins I went into the tiny streets leading down to the to harbour again walking away from the tourists and finding my self with the locals. Walking past boats which were tide up on the rocks at the perpendicular fashion and came out on the rocks and had a great view of the beautiful local girls tanning and the prison of Château d'If on the the islands of the Frioul archipelago in the Bay of Marseille... so I did a drawing and again the locals amused that I'd found their hiding place came a watched me drawing and asked questions about where I'd been and told me places I should go... I went swimming and felt that my stuff was safe and wasn't going to get stolen with my back turn...
I did a painting from there as well which I'm quite happy with.
I walked back to the hostel and got a call from Denise who gave me a time which she'd collect me a take me for a meal, I had just enough time to have a showers and a quick coffee. I got talking to the waitress, Paulin, she said that the hostel owner was looking for artists to do murals, in return getting free lodging and a meal every day... I asked her to set a meeting to see if I could get the job for later that year.
Then it was time to go... Denise arrived with daughter and grand daugther and whisked me off to a restaurant to the left of Mersallie at the Goudes. I had calamari and tasted every ones dish, very good fish restaurant, we had a very charming waiter who smile at me all evening and kept looking over and walking into chairs and things, which made him quite embaressed.
very cute to watch.
I thanked Denise for the beautiful meal and It was great meeting Dave's family. I got back to the hostel and went to have a hot chocolate at the bar, there was spanish guy talking to the waitress at the bar, Paulin. She called me over and said that the guy, John, was going to the bays to swim tomorrow and I should go with him to draw and paint because it so beautiful, I got talking with john and we made a meeting for 7am the next morning... I went to bed exhausted and found my room had been filled with three korean girls who looked very shocked when I walked in to my room, I laughed at their faces and they chilled out a little, one of them was very beautiful and was learning French so I talked to her and showed them my drawings, I got to sleep at about 2 am, and the girls were still chattering but I passed out.
I woke up at 8.30am, and thinking I had missed my meeting I went for breakfast... John was still waiting for me at the bar, he said he thought I'd be late, and not to worry, have breakfast and we'll go when I ready... cool... We drove out to the bay and after a good 30 mins walk found our selves looking out on to sea, over the green waters of the bays. The cliffs had be carved by the sea and created and little haven, there were quite a few people walking back a forth. I did a few drawing and swam, it was lovely and peaceful we spent about 3 hours chilling and talking.
The walk back was good on the legs and I needed another swim by the time we got back to his car. I've just had lunch and I'm sitting drinking a coffee in bar near the hostel with free Internet. There's and group getting ready to perform and I think I'll stay and see what it like, then maybe go for a walk along the beach and watch the sunset when it get a little cooler.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb