A day of tranit by train, by bus, by car, and of course by foot


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast with Celeste was quiet and tasty - as a treat, I went with her across the street and bought myself another brioche aux raisins for my last day in Nice. She was leaving the next day. We said goodbye, I checked out, and went to the Nice train station to buy my ticket to Marseille. Ideally, I should have done this yesterday to avoid the crazy morning lines, but c'est la vie. I didn't have cash on me (risky) so I tried to pay with my visa card but it didn't work. I tried to convince the man behind the counter that it wasn't my card, so he called over a supervisor. By then the nervous sweat had started and I pulled on my shirt thinking "why is this room 10x hotter now than when I entered?!" Luckily, I was able to pay with my visa in the end and I think the guy just didnt know what he was doing. I got on the train and that's that, there's not much to a train ride.

I fell asleep a bit and caught up with my journaling. Once in Marseille, I walked from the tourist office, where I got some information, to the bus station. I had to take a 20 minute bus ride to the airport and they charged me 8.50 euros for a one way ticket. Shame on them. It's totally a scam because I paid 1.30 euros for an hour and a half bus ride to Cannes.

So I kind of over estimated my waiting time at the airport and turned up wayyyy too early. Better early than late though. Unfortunately the airport was very small and there was only ONE shop - a cafe. So basically, I waited at a table for 4.5 hours doing absolutely nothing. That's the time I wished for my ipod or a gameboy or sudoku...anything more distracting than a book and my journal.

The plane ride was an hour and 15 minutes and it felt like 15 minutes because I slept almost the entire flight! Why can't I sleep so easily on 8 hour flights I wonder!? The plane ride had lots of turbulents and when we landed, the plane didn't land perfectly straight so we kind of swerved down the runway. A bit scary.

My bag came out on the belt really quickly and I exited the baggage claim doors to see Wiebke and Nina standing there waiting for me. It was so wonderful to see them! The drive back was 2 hours and we talked, sang, and laughed the whole way. Then I passed out. Traveling is tiring. =)

xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb