Dipping our toes in the Atlantic - Tuesday July 10, 2018


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We are up and while having breakfast Kirsten shares the agenda for the day.

Off to Cocoa Beach we go, well not exactly, were going to the beach but it’s the east side of the Atlantic. We pack our swim suits, beach towels, snacks and yes sun screen.

Kirsten plots the course to Noirmoutier-en-L’ile into the Navi, Google maps and Apple maps. You think we’ll find it? Ok, this is the island where this year’s Tour De France started, the road going and coming on the island is covered whenever the tide comes in. Pretty cool. We arrive to the road, the tide is out, and we head toward the island. It was so cool.

After some picture taking and walking on the wet sand we pile back into the car and head toward the island. I tell Kirsten, I’m hoping to find fish camp and get a fried Grouper sandwich and beer. Kirsten responds ... good luck bucko.

We settle on this cute restaurant on the main canal leading out to the bay. I have fish and chips, LOL. Kirsten has sardines, Bea has some fish dip and Omi has a seafood tart. After lunch, we drive around the island and find nice spot to check out the Atlantic. Kirsten parks we all pile out and start walking toward the beach. In front of us, is a nice Audi SUV stuck in the sand, yep majorly stuck, all four wheels are buried. I walk by trying to not make eye contact with the driver.

Once we get on the beach, we walk out to the water. I walk into the Atlantic and cringe, it’s freezing cold. Everyone walks in and we adjust in a few moments. We walk on the beach toward the point, and what do we find... WWII bunkers. Wow! Amazing those things were intimidating. I can only image having to run up on to them and try to capture it.

Whenever we vacation, we bring Opa along. You know he loves to travel and is great company. So, Kirsten left a little of Opa on the beach near the bunkers. We wave good bye to Opa and head back to the car. The tow truck arrives and is struggling not to get stuck. Kirsten says don’t make eye contact, keep walking and don’t stare. LOL.

The tide has come in, how do we get off the island? Helga our Navi, sends us on a route that has a bridge. Kirsten always has a backup plan.

As we’re leaving the island there are these salt marshes on both sides of the road. Every so often there is small shack with people buying something. Kirsten whips the car into one of the parking lots ...if you can call it that. She is out of the car walking toward the shack saying, I need to see what is going on here. Omi, Bea and I are in tow wondering also what is going on here.

What’s going on is they are harvesting the salt from the marshes and selling it. Yea, sea salt everywhere. Piles and piles of it and these people are like skimming the salt off the top of the marshes. Well of course we need to buy some.

We’re in the car making our way back to the house. Thirty minutes from the house traffic comes to halt. Yes, dead stop, I-4 Friday five o’clock traffic. Everyone knows Kirsten doesn’t do traffic jams. She is instructing me to find an alternative route. I’m trying to operate the Navi and use my paper map. Kirsten tells me to use Google maps and Apple Maps. She takes the next exit, to where? I have no idea. Bea and Omi are in the back seat having a great time. We make it home, I have no idea how we made it home, but we did.

As I laid in bed, I realized I have to become an expert in using the Navi, Google Maps and Apple Maps. My old paper maps are history, I love paper maps, I will miss using my paper maps. Another industry falls to technology.

After dinner, we watch the World Cup game France vs Belgium. It was exciting, we were pulling for France. Bea was pulling for Belgium. France wins .... the party continues in France. We hear whooping and hollering all thru the night. France is very happy.

Off to bed we go. I’m totally worn out.

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb