Bicycle Riding along the Loire – Sunday July 15, 2018


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Pays-de-la-Loire » Nantes
July 15th 2018
Published: July 19th 2018
Edit Blog Post

After such a long day yesterday, we slept in, no one was up before 9 am. I was the first and sat on the patio drinking my coffee and remembering what a great evening we had.

Kirsten soon came out and Omi followed in about 30 minutes. Everyone was smiling as we reflected on such a fun evening. We had a light breakfast, Omi announced she wanted to go to church. Me... I wanted to go on a bicycle ride. I loaded up the bicycle into the car and Kirsten dropped me off at the bicycle path following the Loire river.

She said I’ll be back after church, I said give me two hours. As she drove away, I adjusted the bicycle seat and set out.

I rode away from Nantes, basically east. It was peaceful, it was relaxing, it was therapeutic, it’s where I truly find myself. This is why I’ve always enjoyed bicycling.

I rode for an hour, I then crossed the Loire river and rode back for an hour. As I was approaching the place Kirsten dropped me off I saw her snapping pictures of me.

As we ride back, Kirsten tells me all about church and how they prayed for me to have a safe bicycle ride.

For lunch, Kirsten has found us a chateau in Vertou. Today they are serving seafood, we pack cheese, bread, sausages and of course wine. We arrive and order ceviche, calamari in olive oil, langoustine lobsters. We sit and have a wonderful picnic lunch.

As Kirsten and Omi walk the grounds I settle into a lounge chair and nap away.

Kirsten and Omi return in about an hour and wake me up let’s go the world cup is in an hour and I don’t want to miss it.

We climb into the car and are home in 30 minutes, we unload all of our stuff out of the car. I work on finding the game on the TV. We watch the game, I don’t know who you were supporting but we supported FRANCE! Why... because we’re in FRANCE.

Four years ago, we were in Germany and guess who won? Germany! So, in four years where will we be?

Ok, one more note, during half time Kirsten gives us our agenda for Monday and Tuesday, road trip through the Loire Valley visiting chateaus and wine cave. We are leaving at 8 am and we have to pack for an overnight stay in Saumur, you’d better be in the car by 8 am.

We celebrate France and their win and off to bed we go.

Good night


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb