Day 2 Breakfast in London, dinner in Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
June 11th 2023
Published: June 11th 2023
Edit Blog Post

This morning, it’s time to travel from London to Paris. Cross the English Channel and travel through to the French capital.

It was an early start, 5:45 alarm. Still not sleeping great due to the constant coughing! But I still think it was an improvement on the previous nights efforts to sleep. So I feel that I’m heading in the right direction.
The breakfast area was already buzzing when I arrived. I feel like I should start the day with a hearty breakfast, but my stomach isn’t feeling the same. I decided on the granola, fruit and yoghurt with a fresh orange juice. I considered that the bad bacteria will help the good bacteria with my sickly feeling today! I sat on my own to eat, there are so many people in the restaurant, and I have no clue who is with my tour group!

As I didn’t really engage fully with the breakfast, I decided to wrap a couple of croissants for later, and made myself a coffee to go. So pleased that I brought my Nespresso cup along for the ride! It wasn’t long before we were outside, packing out luggage onto the coach, and we’re ready for going.

We set off on the coach, the journey to Paris begins! We are heading for Dover, as it’s a Dover to Calais ferry crossing. It should be nice today as the weather is amazing.

We had a full run down if house/tour rules as we set off. I’m pleased to have a charge point in the bus. I do have a battery bank, but a charge point is a blessing! I dozed in and out of sleep in the first part of the journey, I did feel better for it! Looking back, My breakfast now seems like it was an ‘out of body’ experience! Thank goodness for my coffee cup!

The weather going over to Calais was beautiful. The perfect weather for sailing! It took about two and a half hours to cross. I spent my time wandering inside and outside. First of all needing the warm, airy breeze, followed by wanting to sit down, you just couldn’t do the two things at the same time! I’m really feeling the effects from the lack of sleep, hopefully that will improve tonight.

I got a really basic sandwich for lunch, wishing I had seen the pizza, paste, salad bar earlier!!! My coffee cup also got a full up for the next part of the journey, after we disembark.

Absolute catastrophe….. I got comfy on the bus, ready to disembark….utter shock and horror… I have left my beloved Nespresso travel cup on the ferry. Devastated is an understatement!!! Any that knows me well will understand the grave ness of this loss. I am truly in mourning! I decided to mentally draw a line under the episode because it could ruin my entire holiday! I also have the comfort of knowing I have another one at home!!! Donna, please can you scoop it from Kath’s for me!
I’ll not mention it again!

It’s been a long, but relatively pleasant drive to Paris, with a short rest stop. It’s been really hot again today, but literally, as I’m writing the blog, the skies have opened to allow a much needed downpour. It’s actually quite refreshing!

We arrived at the Hotel - Hotel Kyriad Paris Nord -Porte de Saint Ouen. We checked in, did a quick bag drop, and a freshen up before rushing off for dinner. I did a few pictures of views on the way round, and a weird piece of art -a pile of suitcases!!! Not quite art to me, but one man’s meat is another man’s poison …. And all that, but I did find it interesting enough to take a picture!!!
We passed another huge piece of. Art/advertising in Champs-Élysées, it was erected there to celebrate the collaboration with Japanese artist Yayoi Kusana. Louis Vuitton has redecorated several locations around the world with iconic polka dots and life-like animatronics. We were lucky enough to spot that one!

We are heading to The Bouillon for dinner, the queue outside is huge, luckily we get to walk straight through! The food was nice, I had ravioli, the French brioche in caramel sauce with cream. So good all round for me!

As we were heading back to the hotel, the skies opened again…. It was torrential! Some of the group stayed back to walk to see the Eiffel Tower lit up. I did consider it, but decided not to. I’m still struggling from being poorly, so thought I would benefit from going to bed early. I am knackered… again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



11th June 2023

Loving it....but get well soon!
Enjoy LAK.....I'm following!😉
12th June 2023

OUTBOUND
Well fancy leaving your favourite coffee cup! We always have fresh bottled water with us. Make up sandwiches, bread & fruits at every opportunity. Even if you don’t eat them - the animals will. Enjoy the next stage & chat to somebody. KEEP SAFE😍

Tot: 0.39s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0888s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb