Je Ne Parle Pas Le Francais


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre
July 6th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Very triumphant!Very triumphant!Very triumphant!

I felt triumphant just looking at the structure
I don't speak French. Not enough anyway. I'm not sure if 2 years of French at high school at 13 - 14 yrs old qualifies as "speaking French". That said, it wasn't too troublesome for me to navigate my way around Paris and eventually head to Taize. However, I won't hesitate to say that having friends in Paris who are Francophones did make me feel so much at ease!

It was my first time to Paris and for the 4 hours I spent there, I loved it! The beautiful architecture of L'Arc de Triomph, Notre Dame and the Louvre made my heart feel warm. These sights were only a small taster of what will undoubtedly be another trip in the future.
I must say I find it a little perplexing that there is so much space for the Palaces and other grand buildings, yet living spaces in Paris are left wanting...
In the afternoon I had a meeting with L'Arche Community in Paris. It was interesting experience to say the least.

After 2 nights in Paris, I navigated my way (with help from my friends) to Taize Community. The whole journey ought to have taken about 4 hours. I
Drive byDrive byDrive by

Drive by Shots of the Eiffel Tower.
was to take a Metro to Gare de Lyon Station, a 2 hour high speed train to Macon-Loche and then a 50 min bus ride to Taize. Piece of cake! Yeah... nah. I arrived at Macon-Loche in good time with a couple of hours to spare before my bus to Taize. Due to my limited French & general unhelpful attitude of the information and ticketing people, I managed to stand and watch the bus pass me by. Another 2 hours later (after much cussing and complaining), my bus arrived and I was headed for Taize!

Taize is a Christian Community run by 70 monks, a number of nuns and volunteers from all around the world. For the 3 days I was there, I ate, slept, prayed, sang and basically had a very fun time! NEVER in my life have I ever been so excited to attend Church 3 times a day EVERY DAY. Without fail, the bell would ring at 8.15am, 12.20pm and 8.30pm. People everywhere would stop what they were doing and head to Chapel.

The attendees came from all over Europe and were mainly young people aged 15 - 29. There were 1500 people that were there during my week and 3000 people arriving the week I left. Pretty bizarre considering the dire state of church attendance in Europe - particularly amongst youth!
Definitely, many people are looking for Spiritual experiences - in an organic, structured but not monolithic way. I personally was touched by the prayer services - the repetitive songs where everyone was the choir and the silent spaces in the services moved me to tears on one occasion.

I feel semi-refreshed from my time there. It was a bit hectic and I probably should have stayed for a full week. But definitely feel privileged to have visited Taize and need to go return to France again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Where Old meets newWhere Old meets new
Where Old meets new

The edgy experimental juxtaposed with the classical architecture of the Louvre
Impromptu Foot spaImpromptu Foot spa
Impromptu Foot spa

A lovely way to cool off at bit at the Louvre
Who's Lady??Who's Lady??
Who's Lady??

Notre Dame Cathedral!
Bike LibraryBike Library
Bike Library

For a couple of Euros you can hire a bike and cycle round Paris. I didn't though.
Lunch time at TaizeLunch time at Taize
Lunch time at Taize

Hungry Masses
ChapelChapel
Chapel

Taize Chapel
Unintentional FriendsUnintentional Friends
Unintentional Friends

I didn't expect to make friends at Taize, but alas! I could not avoid such. :)
La la la!La la la!
La la la!

Saturday night service with Candles. So beautiful!


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb