On tour, but not a tourist!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » London
June 27th 2010
Published: June 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The Radical Club of PlumsteadThe Radical Club of PlumsteadThe Radical Club of Plumstead

Would like to know what's the criteria to join...
I'm here in UK on a study tour on intentional communities. It's not the first time I've been to London, so I don't feel pressured to do seriously "touristy" things. This gives me freedom to stumble across different things that interest me or spark my curiosity.

Last week I went to a public debate at East London University titled "Islam vs Christianity, which is the way forward for society?". I was excited - thinking there could be some interesting dialogue. Turned out to be a VERY interesting evening indeed!

I met this Bobby on the street whilst waiting for an appointment. I pulled out the lovely "I'm from NZ, can I take your photo?" line. He happily obliged and went on to tell me how he nearly took up a job in NZ but changed his mind at the last minute. He was almost lamenting the missed opportunity.

Yesterday I attended a Nigerian party - some friends of friends' baby's 1st birthday. I didn't really know anyone, but that was ok... Felt right at home with all the food, chaos, sounds and African time!

Tomorrow I'm off to Paris for some more conversations on community & then
"Public Debate" at East London Uni"Public Debate" at East London Uni"Public Debate" at East London Uni

The men sat on that side.
hanging in Taize for a few days. Hopefully things will slow down a bit!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Women's sideWomen's side
Women's side

Interesting...
The MonumentThe Monument
The Monument

Random monument built in 1666. Can you see me?


28th June 2010

Great update
My dear Jennie, your current blogg is very interesting. Will talk to you more about the debate. You seem very happy at the party, that's what we are missing with true Nigerian community. Can't wait to hear all about France venture.

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb