A day out in Chinon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Centre » Chinon
September 5th 2022
Published: September 5th 2022
Edit Blog Post

A Day in Chinon

So the day starts with a visit to the boulangerie in town. Surprisingly, the campsite doesn’t offer a bread/croissant service. Wouldn’t happen on my marketing/business opportunity watch I can assure you. Well couldn’t beat the taste of the croissants first thing.

Then we decided to have a day in Chinon as it is a lovely town and go up to the castle. We get to the castle and guess what it is not a castle at all it is a fortress. The fortress is absolutely amazing and in really good condition. The views were stunning.

My only one down side was although you could go into the fortress there was not a lot inside apart from film memorabilia for films such as Game of Thrones, Zena the warrior, the Hobbit, Malificiant etc which seemed weird but hey ho who am I to say anything. I guess what I am saying is that the outside was much more impressive than the displays inside, but that doesn’t distract from the absolutely fantastic nature of the fortress.

We also went up the clock tower and just as we got to the top there was a big clang and it was the clock chiming which I nearly lost the plot with as I nearly jumped through the roof with fright. We got to the top outside and I had to go down as I could not stand the height - I am wondering if I can get some hypnosis to help with my fear of heights and every other fear I have for that matter. I am also claustrophobic so never be in a lift with me as if it gets stuck I have a plan to kill you so I do not starve of air - just a hint boys and girls take the stairs if you are with me.

We walked back down through the old town and found our little bar and this time we had a charcuterie which if totally honest was not as nice as the cheese we had the day before but you have to try different things. Then we went to a bar by the river on the way back to the campsite - another bottle of wine while we were people watching!!

We are off tomorrow to a little place called Cognac la Foret. So lets see how Goose gets on with this one.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.444s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb