Doing the Owl Walk in Dijon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Dijon
August 1st 2009
Published: August 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

We woke up early; Lori and I have perfected the bathroom schedule. I’m first while Lori is still waking up. Once I’m out she’s in. I finish dressing then head down stairs with my stuff, load it into the car and go have breakfast. In about 30-45 minutes Lori shows up and has breakfast. I’ve finished looking at the maps and books; Lori asks where we going today Pops? And I tell her. It’s not the fastest but it works.
So today we are going to visit Dijon, you know the place that makes mustard. We start with the cathedral, then the crypt and wrap it up with finding the owl. If we rub it we’ll get good luck. Lori agrees and we’re off.
We park in the same area as last night and start walking toward the cathedral, we walked through the cathedral and it was as beautiful as the others. We then visited the cathedral’s crypt (the best crypt we visited). It was very large and had numerous tombs of past priests. It was like walking through the basement of a castle, you know like you see in the movies. Makes you wonder what you have to do to get buried here. As we leave the cathedral we found our little Owl friend on the side walk, I tell Lori I think this will lead us to the Owl we’re supposed to find and rub.
So down the Owl walk we go holding hands skipping. Stop! Stop! It’s more like, Are you sure about this dad, you know you’ve been known to get lost. Trust me I said I know the way, we’ll follow the Owl. Well I was right, it turns out that Dijon has a city walk in its downtown area. It’s marked with these cute Owl markers sending you in the direction for the next area of interest. So Lori and I began our trek and as were walking we turn the corner and find ……..IT’S MARKET DAY!!! Wooo Hooo, Kirsten I know your having a headache. Lori is just amazed at all the folks shopping and the number of vendors. We walk together for a while and then Lori decides she wants to wander alone. So I get her attention and say we meet right here in 1 hour. Do you understand, yeah, yeah, yeah? I set off looking for lunch while Lori is looking at everything from dead chickens with their feet still intact to jewelry. I soon find the roasted chicken man, oh yeah; they look good and smell even better. I’m in line and when it’s my turn to get mine, there all sold out. I’m so depressed. In his broken English and my lack of French he’s telling me 45 more minutes. Ok, I sulk away as I’m looking at my watch calculating when I’m to return. I find another vendor selling bread and buy us a Baggett, I then find an olive vendor and get us some olives and last I get us a few beverages. By this time it’s time to hook up with Lori so I head back to the spot. Of course I’m there first and Lori comes up few minutes later. I tell Lori of about the chicken man, she asks like the one we had back at our first picnic. Oh yeah, Lori blurts out let’s go old man and were off to get us a roasted chicken. We get our chicken and go to the park we visited earlier, we sat on the ground eating roasted chicken, bread, olives and drinking wine. I want to stop right here and say, this moment is not better than the first time I held Lori as a baby but pretty damn close. We finished lunch, laughing about the owl walk and started toward the car.
Oh by the way we did find the Owl and we rubbed its head.
We got back into car pointed the car toward Colmar. It was an easy drive and we arrived around 5 PM. We found a hotel within the down town area and checked in. I took nap and Lori started exploring Colmar.
After my nap we were ready for diner so we walked downtown. Lori went toward the shops and I sat at a café and had a beer. This restaurant happened to be a German restaurant. The food smelt so good coming out of the kitchen. Lori returned from shopping and I was waiting to order. I had already read the menu from front to back, my choice was a ham knuckle, not deep fried like I had before, but roasted. It was so good, Lori ate half of it, and she would have eaten it all if she had half a chance. Sounds like someone I know.
We walked back to the hotel rubbing our bellies and went to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



21st August 2009

TITLE
so beautiful

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb