Is "Panga Pank" the new "Hanky Panky"?


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Saaremaa » Kuressaare
September 4th 2007
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

aaa

This lake formed inside a crater created by a meteor. Nothing special ... though the park where the crater was located was quite tranquil and had a nice countryside feel to it. The secluded location made me worry that Mary would murder me and dump my body here.
Geo: 58.2534, 22.4892

I had some trouble sleeping last night - I was coughing and wheezing all night long, and couldn't really breathe. Perhaps my body is breaking down now that I'm 30! Mary Moment #22: Mary screamed in the middle of the night, scaring the crap out of me. And when I started screaming "Mary, what's going on???", she wouldn't answer me. Probably having nightmares about traveling with me ...

Breakfast was included at the guest house - pretty standard stuff for this part of the world. There was a Spanish soap opera playing on TV. Telenovelas are so cheesy! But they also have Spanish hotties, so I'm not complaining. We set off to find another car rental agency and managed to get a car.

Saaremaa isn't a very big island - we drove around the western side of the island for awhile, then headed back to Kuressaare for lunch. We did a little bit of shopping before heading out to the southern end of the island. It was a bit of a boring day, but there was nothing else to do anyway.

On the drive back to town - a couple was standing outside their broken down car. We pulled
a1a1a1

A little info on the crater.
over and found there was a bit of a language barrier. He started to pull out a short ragged old rope ... uh, no ... I don't think it would have been safe to tow him. We offered a cell phone but they declined. We finally managed to agree to bring the wife to the next town. It wasn't a very pleasant ride as they had obviously been fishing all day ... the wife wasn't exactly minty-fresh.

We dropped her off and were on our way. Mary later confessed that she thought they might kill us. I then confessed that I wish they had, because it would've been the most exciting part of the day!

For dinner, we went to a tavern located inside of an old windmill. It was a pretty atmospheric place that served pretty good stuff. We couldn't finish the huge portions, but I guess we shouldn't have ordered soups to start. We took a quick walk before heading back to the guesthouse, where we watched an ultra-lame horror flick - Final Destination.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

a3a3
a3

Some windmills. Kind of boring.
a5a5
a5

Our car.
a6a6
a6

What does the "TP" button do?
a7a7
a7

It dispenses TP!!! I'm positive that Tri got this option for his Subaru.
a8a8
a8

The cliffs of Panga Pank. Sounds kind of dirty, no? Like "hanky panky"? It's famous as being a place of child sacrifice. As cliffs, they were pretty disappointing.
a9a9
a9

Mary - who knew she was such a big time "swinger"?
b3b3
b3

View from Tagaranna, a fishing village. Off in the distance you can see the cliffs of Panga Pank.
cc
c

Mary's squatting is her interpretation of "Panga Pank". Dirty!
c2c2
c2

Time for a chocolate break - Tiramisu. Not bad, but not as good as the Trilogy chocolate we've been devouring.
ii
i

When you're in a place as boring as this island, you resort to taking lame pictures like this.
jj
j

When your name is Mary, you resort to taking lame pictures like this.
kk
k

Cider. Oh baby.
k2k2
k2

Mary sat at the table and noticed that her side was dirty. So she blew everything over to my side. How kind of her ...
ll
l

Sometimes my stomach speaks. Here he is, screaming out for gelato. That crusty-looking bowl was a hot pot - meat, chili, bell peppers, cheese, rice. Pretty good.
l2l2
l2

Mary with her chicken and pineapple pancakes. Not bad, but not as good as Kompressor's. I have no idea what the heck happened to this photo. Perhaps Mary's aura of dirtiness caused my camera to crap out.
l3l3
l3

I believe this was taken on the Sorve Peninsula - there was also a lighthouse in the area. I think Latvia is supposed to be in the distance.
l4l4
l4

Trying something a little different with this photo.
mm
m

At Tehumardi - these memorials mark the site of a 1944 WWII battle.
nn
n

This is supposed to be a giant sword.


Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb