Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

July 30-31

Flying east into morning is a strange experience. Our plane was full and the seats so close together that I was trapped the minute the person in from pushed her seat back. While an eight hour flight should have provided enough time for a good sleep, the fact that I couldn’t move made sleeping impossible and napping an iffy situation. Still, as we flew past Gander and near Iceland, the sky remained light and the remnant colors of sunset were always at the horizon.
It seems that lately I have been blessed with flying in the “nursery”. On this flight there was only one little one (not three as on my flight from CA) and she was clearly distressed when she cried which wasn’t very often but coincided with my naptime.

The connection in Helsinki was smooth and I arrived in Copenhagen feeling rather refreshed at 10:30 am. , (4:30am NY time). Riding in from the airport, it looked like most cities, office buildings, divided highway, modern ugly architecture, but as soon as arrive in the center, magical Copenhagen appeared. It is a charming city without being cutesy. The skyline is low so the wonderful towers and spires are clearly seen against the sky. Everywhere one looks there is a statue or a fountain or some wonderful building decoration that catches the eye and begs to be photographed.
My hotel is small and conveniently located. I’ll say more about it later. My room is ready so I freshen up and strike out to see the sights. Everywhere I turn there is a scene to capture my attention. I come upon a Canal Boat Tour stop and hop onboard. This is a wonderful way to get a flavor of the city. We squeak under very low bridges, the tide so high today that we are excluded from some of the canals, and get a different perspective of this trading city.
Some of the oldest and the newest buildings are on the harbor. The old customhouses, now converted to flats or restaurants or museums are near the new Opera House and the new Playhouse. The latter are modern structures that either in their materials or style pay homage to the past. We visit the little mermaid and her crowd of admirers. We see a village of houseboats, a favored way to live in this maritime city.
After the tour I meander and find myself on the Stroget, the "pedestrian only" shopping street that extends for blocks. I can’t imagine a better place to watch people. Just a note, the Scandinavian women are amazing looking. There is a woman setting up breakfast in the hotel that is a beautiful as any movie star and she is not unique. The men are good looking as well. Many unfortunately are into body art, body art gone wild. There are street entertainers, mimes, magicians and dancers. You can buy Royal Copenhagen china or amber jewelry or sleazy t-shirts and there are restaurants and bars to every taste.
I am beginning to flag and go back to the hotel for a nap. My room is small but clean. Like the hotel in general it is decorated in Danish Modern style and is comfortable and compact. The hotel is popular with young trekkers and Europeans. Just as I am beginning to nap I hear loud voices and laughter. Curious, I go to the window and below is a group of young men drinking beer and sounding boisterous, as groups of young men will. I spy a young man relieving himself against the wall opposite and wonder if this hotel was a good choice. I soon see that beer drinking takes place everywhere. Bikers drink beer as the ride, walkers drink beer as they walk. No wonder the fellow had to pee.
As it turns out is a great choice. Most everything is within walking distance, the staff is friendly and EVERYONE speaks English. A modest dinner buffet and an extensive breakfast buffet are included in the price and there is a patio where one can sit comfortably and enjoy a drink. There is a clock tower nearby so that I always know the approximate time. Although it’s noisy at night, I can sleep through an avalanche so it doesn’t bother me.
After my nap I shower and change and head off to Tivoli. The park is a wonderful combination of amusement park, gardens, entertainment and food. The path meanders around with statues and fountains and ponds and garders around every curve. I find a statue of a violinist and as I am taking a picture, the roller coaster car zooms by in the background. I wish I could stay and enjoy the fireworks but I am too weary.
Things I notice about Copenhagen. The city is very clean. The people are friendly. There are many Gay and Lesbian groups. The dress style is casual with a biker flare for the guys and high boots and scarves for the girls. Couples neck in public and no one appears interested. The Danes love their bikes and ride them everywhere. One can rent a bike almost anywhere around town. While there are many boats along the canals, the harbor is not teeming with sailors like Sydney. I cannot say enough about the architecture. Buildings from the 1700’s are still in use and still beautifully maintained. The spires and turrets and towers and steeples are varied and beautifully designed and decorated. It is a city of nooks and crannies that I would love to explore.
Soon I’ll be off to join the Eurodam and discover more of Scandinavia. When I return to Copenhagen at the end of the cruise, I plan to visit some museums and palaces. So much to see, so little time.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb