ON BOARD THE EURODAM


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Mecklenburg-Vorpommern » Rostock
August 3rd 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

8/1

Awoke early and wrote my blog and enjoyed a breakfast buffet before leaving for the port. The Eurodam is the newest and largest vessel in the fleet. I was checked in and on board by 11:45 and directed to the dinning room for lunch. Met Alison from Toronto who is on CruiseCritic and Madelyn and Gerry from Michigan. All three were exhausted as they flow in last night and just arrived this AM. Just confirmed my decision to come across one day early. Sitting in the Crow’s Nest and enjoying the view of the harbor while all around me passengers are sacked out for a rest. Expect the cabin to be ready soon and found out that I was up-graded from an inside (NN) to an outside (C). A visit from the upgrade fairy is always appreciated.
I’ve been on the lookout for Marion and John but haven’t run across them yet. Since they traveled directly from the West Coast, I expect they are napping somewhere now. There are a few youngsters aboard. Hope there are attentive parents with them. It’s wonderful to watch the sea rushing past. I went to bed early , as usual and awoke just in time to watch our sailing under the third longest suspension bridge in the world. Now if I only remembered it’s name! I believe that it connects Denmark and Sweden.

At dinner I learned that the Erotica Museum has closed it’s doors for good. Sorry I missed that! A couple from Yonkers wanted to buy a souvenir for their conservative sons-in-law so were disappointed. I also learned that the Gay Pride parade was held in CPH and that explains the number of gays in town.


8/2

Just checked on John and Marion and found out they missed the boat. Since they booked their air through HAL, I would have expected that the front desk would have some information but all they could tell me is that there were about 100 people who did not make the sailing. I heard something about an incident at LGA that fouled up travel yesterday, but they were due to arrive in CPH on the 1st so I don’t know if that had anything to do with it. Needless to say I am concerned.

We are in Germany now … Warnemunde (the port) and Roztoc (the city). I hope to explore later in the day but for now I am resting my knee.
We are moored in a port that has a large amount ferry traffic. These vessels make the Staten Island Ferry or the Bridgeport - Port Jeff ferries look like toys. Two of the largest are named … the Tom Sawyer and the Huckleberry Finn. Go figure!

Dinner time.

My knee has been giving me fits all day so today I was a real lizard. Read by the pool, read in the Crow’s Nest, took a nap and started the cycle all over again. Still have not heard from John and Marion. The Front Desk was to let me know when they embarked but no news yet. A couple flew in from NYC with their three children all under five, and arrived around noon. They were supposed to arrive on the 1st also. They said it was a zoo in the NY airport. John and Marion were flying through Atlanta so I don’t know what may have happened there. Hope they didn’t through up their arms in disgust and head home.
Tomorrow is a sea day and tonight we have a German buffet and an Umpa band to entertain. Heading to the Lido to check it out.

Enjoyed the music for a while and then went to the dining room. Sat with a couple from the UK, a gentleman from Canada and and an Indian couple who live in Jacksonville and have lived in the US for 40 some years. They are citizens and so pround of our country and so involved and informed. Wish some of our native born were as involved.

8/3

Latest word is that John and Marion will board in Tallin. The stories from those who made it yesterday are horrific. Today is overcast for the first time but there will much to do on board; our CruiseCritic group meet today and there is a travel agent's cocktail party this evening. Tonight is formal so it will be fun to see the glitz and glitter. Tomorrow, I hope for a family reunion.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.33s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb