Today I did nothing, but experienced so much


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
September 6th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

bbb

Beautiful ... like the stuff of dreams. This was magical at night. Imagine walking along, seeing only trees. Then all of a sudden you come across this, beautifully lit by the moonlight. There's not enough light for you to see everything ... just enough moonlight to see silhouettes and shapes. It's incredible because all you can see is ocean in the distance, no land masses. Seeing it gives you a feeling of infinity. I knew that a night shot wouldn't do it justice so I didn't even bother. You'll have to make due with the day shot and your imagination.
Geo: 42.858, 17.67

Funny this morning at breakfast ... heard a girl talk about the Lonely Planet guides saying that they sucked. She should try the Let's Go guides! Then she'll know what crappy guides are all about!

I am really excited this morning ... I am supposed to meet Emilie and Aude at the Pile Gate! I guess they had some difficulties at their hostel and broke the key in their door. Apparently they were quite worried that they would be late and that I would not wait around for them. Ahhh ... so nice to be wanted 😊

We walked around the old town. It's not quite as nice in the daytime, especially with all the tour groups milling about. Irritating ... but it's alright because as soon as it hits 4 PM, they all clear out and return to their cruise ships. Much nicer after that.

Anyway, we had some grapes ... I was a little disappointed because I expected these incredible ones but they only turned out to be average. Had a crappy salami sandwich for lunch. We all walked to the beach - sat around and hung out for a bit. It's really hot in Dubrovnik! The town, the
ccc

Third oldest pharmacy in Europe.
beach ... I think all the stone just absorbs heat and radiates it back outwards. We all regretted not wearing our swimsuits ... it was a perfect time for a dip.

This will probably be my shortest blog ever - we really did nothing but hang out all day. I really didn't keep any notes - it's nice to be occupied all day like this! We walked some more, sat on church steps, snacked on cookies and pastries, browsed in a book store, did some shopping ...

We all bought a book each. We found these really cheap classic novels (I bought "A Tale of Two Cities"😉 for only a couple of euros. It didn't make any sense as only novels by a certain publisher were that cheap - other novels were 10 euros or more. We were afraid to ask the employees why, for fear of them realizing it was a mistake and charging us more, but our curiosity got the better of us. They really had no idea why there were so cheap.

It was great hanging out with the girls today ... I wish that I could see more of Europe with them but sadly, I know
ddd

Nice lounge on the beach, complete with mattresses. The Croatians know how to live! Dubrovnik has some of the hippest, coolest lounges around.
that it's over after today 😞 Dinner - the girls wanted to save some money and cook. No complaints from me! They cooked at my hostel though none of us was really a guest there any longer (I had already checked out).

Chicken, mushrooms, and a cream sauce served with bow-tie pasta. Ahhhhh ... another home-cooked meal ... I need more of this! I should post a personal ad on the internet "Single Chinese man seeking women to cook him meals while he travels through Europe."

We ate on the terrace and admired the full moon. I didn't say much ... I don't know about the girls, but I just wanted to savour the moment because I didn't want it to end. I was actually very sad at the thought of leaving the girls. As a side note, a bird shit on Aude. I had to laugh ... but of all people I think she understands that it's still funny even though it happened to her!

Ran into Jenny at the hostel. She sat with us for a bit until I had to leave for the ferry. Emilie and Aude ended up walking me to the ferry ... it was actually
eee

The island of Lokrum. Never went there. Maybe next time.
very sweet of them. I was happy that I could spend a few more minutes with them but at the same time, I was also saddened because it reminded me of how nice these two girls are.

We did the whole french double-kiss thing. I guess being North American it feels a little awkward for me, but when in Europe you do as the locals do. Funny story - the girls were complaining about these Brazilian guys at their hostel trying to get them to hang out with them. Apparently, they were quite glad to see me today because they missed having me around, and they liked the fact that, unlike the Brazilians, I don't try and "entice" them (as Emilie puts it). Ha ha ... I guess I'm just not a very enticing guy for women!

Reminder to self - I need to read "Le Petit Prince". Emilie suggested it as a way of learning French because it is a very simple story using simple language. In addition to continuing learning Spanish when I return, French will also be a priority. At least now I have someone to communicate with in French!

A very unique day - I can't
fff

f
really tell you what we did all day (because we really didn't do much of anything), only that it was very full and very memorable. It was a blast hanging out with them today. I was sad to see them go but life goes on. I hope to see them again before I go home. If I get a chance to go to Paris I will try and meet up with Aude and when I am in London I hope I can see Emilie. Maybe even meet this great boyfriend she keeps talking about!

Ran into Aussie girl (Maddy) from the hostel. Also taking the ferry to Bari but she is heading to Rome, and not Naples like me. She's going to meet a guy she met in Rome a few weeks ago. Cool! I love hearing stories like that. Of course, I told her my Isabel story (I seem to do that a lot with strangers).

Shared a cabin with an Italian guy named Guiseppe. He's from the Naples area. He gave me some great tips like taking bus instead of the train (much faster and without any changes) and also gave me some safety tips. When a local guy
ggg

g
gives you safety tips, you better listen. Don't wear jewelery of any kind and don't flash cash or your camera. Naples sounds scary!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

hh
h

Some kind of performance venue. There was some concert there 2 nights ago - many of Dubrovnik's people were attending in their finest attire.
ii
i

Shot of the walls.
jj
j

Erotic fountain. For fun, they should turn it into a lemonade dispenser.
kk
k

k
ll
l

The main drag in Dubrovnik's old town.
mm
m

m
nn
n

n
oo
o

Cooking in the hostel.
zz
z

Delicious! A great way to end the night ... sitting with friends, enjoying the food, enjoying the moonlight, and enjoying the company. Why did it have to end???? Oh, the horror!!!!!??? Sniff ... sniff ...


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb