Naked, wrinkly, old German tourists - I'm blind!!!


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Dubrovnik
September 5th 2006
Published: September 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.858, 17.67

Guess who I met in my dorm room last night? Zane and Alex, the two good Aussie blokes from Korcula. We shared a bonding moment as we bitched about the obnoxious Aussies in Korcula.

Had a fairly decent hostel breakfast and off to the island of Lopud. Didn't bring a camera today so sorry, no pictures! Ferry was run-down but you hardly notice when you sail the beautiful Adriatic sea.

It's funny because there's this great relaxing dance song I like by Aquapura ... soothing beat with some nice guitar work. It's always in my head when I see the Adriatic. Way before coming to Croatia, whenever I listened to that song I imagined listening to it while sipping a cocktail and sailing a yacht on the Mediterranean. It's not the Mediterranean, but it's close enough! It's the perfect song for Croatia and has been in my head almost the entire time I've been here. Too bad I don't have an Ipod with the song on it, so that I could actually listen to it 😞

Got to Lopud and hiked 30 minutes to Sunj Cove. Finally, sand! Honestly, the beach is only mediocre by tropical standards but for Croatia it is one of the best. As usual, the water was spectacular. Shallow, calm, crystal clear .... you could wade out 20 or 30 metres and still only be chest deep. I love it here!

The only bad thing is that there are cigarette butts strewn about the beach and in the water. Bastards!!! Have a little respect, people! Speaking of which ... saw some nude German sunbathers ... old .... wrinkly ... yech!

Splurged on a beach side lunch. Fried calamari - bland but not too bad. Iced tea, and salad with canned tuna, accompanied by tons of bread. Pricey, but the view was worth it. Sat there reading "The Picture of Dorian Grey" for 3 hours. Made a serious dent in it .. it's actually quite a good story. I am really enjoying it and am almost finished.

I just chilled and relaxed all day. Swam, sunbathed, and also hid in the shade later on. I needed this kind of day. Funny note - the bar next to the restaurant played every Madonna song know to mankind.

The island has these strange bugs ... never actually saw them but could hear them. They are almost in unison and it is incredibly loud. It's relaxing in a way but I prefer the Aquapura song as my soundtrack for the Adriatic.

Had a beer in town while waiting for my ferry. The outside cafe had a swinging patio chair, so of course I had to indulge myself for awhile. The ferry ride home was beautiful. There was almost a full moon out but the sun still hadn't quite set just yet. Such a wonderful contrast on the palette of the Dalmatian coast ... the warm, hazy colours of the sunset and the striking light of the moon. I am in love with this place.

Grabbed a quick sausage roll and pizza. Ran into Jenny from Korcula at the hostel. She was a sight for sore eyes ... now I had someone to go to the cafes with! She had a pretty rough day and was very happy to see a familiar face. She had no sleep last night (partying) and had a long bus ride to town. She got lost and spent an hour finding the hostel. Anyway, we both showered and headed to town.

She was as taken with Dubrovnik as I was. You can actually have dinner at a restaurant at the top of the wall, overlooking the sea. But you can only go up there if you have a full meal (we were only looking for a drink). D'oh! We had a drink on one of the many plazas, instead. We each spent 5 euros on a glass of white wine. I'm glad I didn't get the red wine, which was 10 euros! Good thing the waiter warned me. Unbelievably expensive wine, even by North American standards.

We had some dessert - chocolate lasagna and mixed fruit. I was disappointed because it's grape season, but I only received melon and peaches. The chocolate lasagna was prepared according to an ancient recipe. Very good ... it's actually pasta with chocolate sauce flavoured with orange. We lingered awhile ... time flew by and 3 hours passed without us even realizing it. There was an amazing singer doing the classics ... Layla, and many other tunes. He seemed to be able to invoke a little bit of the original artist in each of his songs. It was a great night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb