Of degree and things


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Central Croatia » Zagreb
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

At request, here is a blog post :P (Written by SS, SB is doing something more exciting, like sleeping)

We are in Zagreb, Croatia. Today was the worst day expected for me, (SS) as my degree results were being puiblished and this hostel has one computer, which is usually occupied. Therefore I got up early to steal it. Obviously there was then the time change, which meant I had to check my results at 10am, not 9am. Anyway, lalala I passed. Therefore now I am Sarah Seaton BSc (Hons) and all that woop. I'm not specifying class on here, loads of people I dont know read this! But I passed, so will (hopefully) be seeing most of you at graduation in a fortnight! (flights pending!)

Well as I said we are in Zagreb. My results kinda stole the morning, and I am grateful to SB for putting up with me today, and the weeks before as Ive paniked and whatever. Yeah I can be awful-espicially when stressed.

Just before lunch we headed out. Firstly we headed to a museum called Minmera. We had planned to pay to go, but it ended up being a free day there. Basically the museum is full of stuff that was in someones house when they died. They left it all to Croatia, and it was made into a museum. Really what makes people hoarde things like Egyptian artefacts?!? SB is now convinced she can charge people to go into her bedroom and see all her crap.

After that we headed to Dolac Market, which puts UK markets to shame. Ever been to Leicester market? Well, the fruit and veg section of Dulac was about the siye of Leicesters entire market. I kid not. We brought some fruit and then hid in the shade since it was midday and the sun had finally come out! (Today, I wore suncream for the first time!).

We spent the next few hours wandering, and drinking lots of water since it was damn hot.

After that we caught a tram to a cemetry which was supposed to be really impressive. It was impressively big, and odd, beautiful it was not. After that there were rumbles of thunder and rain (and the raindrops are hugeeeeee out here!) so we legged it home to make dinner and laze.

We have done other things here, we saw the cathedral of the assumption of mary which is huggeeee and has twin spires. Very pretty. Basically lots of wandering and sitting.

Everyone we have spoke to tells us Budapest is amaying, which is our next stop, so we look forward to that with anticipation. Matt is meeting us on Friday, to join us for hopefully a relaxing weekend. Which we will need since we have a lot of travelling in the final week (Romania is bigger than we realised!!).

Well done to all my graduating friends, and to those os you I havent heard from, I hope it all went okay! Love to you all xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb