Enjoying morning in my neighbourhood


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
May 27th 2022
Published: May 27th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Chocolate!Chocolate!Chocolate!

What a lovely store to have in your neighbourhood.
I decided to take a lazy morning and have brunch in a cafe, then walk in palace gardens. It is lovely walking along cobbled streets or sidewalks, watching people go about their day amongst finely decorated buildings. There is something comforting about the size and stature of these buildings, they seem eternal, as if nothing could knock them down.

I strolled around picking out the cafe with lots of people, in shade, serving lots of proteins as well as sweets and caffiene. Along the street I saw the chocolate maker shop and popped in. I bought six round chocolates (am eating them now....OMG, so good) of various flavours; chili, hazelnut, salty, layered nugat. Window shopping is a delight. Finally I sat in a cafe and ordered a cappuchino and omlette. There is no rush to take orders, bring food to table, pass out the bill. I had to ditch my North American sense that I was taking up a table that more people could enjoy, and let time pass as I slowly enjozed my brunch. hmmmmm, what a peaceful morning.

Then I sauntered to the palace gardens. A small army of gardeners were working, this explains the dull hum of machines that I heard outside my bedroom window this morning. I had intended to sit under a tree and write postcards, but something was tickling my sinuses again. I decided to leave the lawn mowing and return home to get ready for an afternoon of playing tourist. I will make that a second blog for today, and later in the evening I might walk along the canel and take photos and add to this blog that celebrates local living.

Tomorrow I get up early and take a train to Hungary. I may not have internet access for a few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

See the dog on the man's lap?See the dog on the man's lap?
See the dog on the man's lap?

Most people spoke French around me. This was an obvious favourite cafe for locals. Even the dogs are happy being here.
Chocolate decisionChocolate decision
Chocolate decision

Can you zoom in and see how many varieties of chocolate balls there are? I will have to come back and keep trying new ones. Everything I bought was delicious.
how they water all those plantshow they water all those plants
how they water all those plants

The water increased the scents....and my sneezing. I will return on a quieter morning
army of gardenersarmy of gardeners
army of gardeners

I counted at least fifteen


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb