Best Art is in Belevedere


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna
May 27th 2022
Published: May 27th 2022
Edit Blog Post

poignant touchpoignant touchpoignant touch

This painting has so much meaning....
This afternoon I went to Belevedere and paid to see their collection. Worth every penny, so much more enjoyable art then in earlier museums, I thought. Today is a hot sunny day and the streets and museums were crowded with tourists. It felt like a weekend, and I am glad I am leaving Vienna for a few days. I am even more glad that I spent the afternoon looking at such lovely paintings. I will post my favourites, with info tiles for some of them.

After touring Belevedere, I went in search of St. Stephen cathedral in the centre of the city. I got lost two days ago trying to find it. For any travelers, take the wide pedestrian street in between the Bristol Hotel and the Opera house, it goes directly to the cathedral, passing hundreds of expensive shops.


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

posepose
pose

This if funny. I asked a couple if they would snap my picture and the lady was a hoot, motioning to me to pose, she even imitated a model for me. They were from Ukraine, and told me that they were spending two days here, then moving to Munich. I told her Canada supported Ukraine and they were grateful.
entranceentrance
entrance

noble in white
relaxed imagerelaxed image
relaxed image

I think the title was merriment after the meal (something like that)
Klimt paintingKlimt painting
Klimt painting

they sell prints and magnets of this


28th May 2022

Great posts!
Hi Teresa, I remembered this morning to check your blog link and I loved reading through your days. It looks like you’ve had gorgeous weather, great cappuccinos, and fascinating (and frustrating) adventures! Stay safe and keep those blog entries coming! Beth

Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb