A day trip for glasses.


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
July 16th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys! Kate here. Well mom, it finally happened. Your doting daughter left something behind at a hostel...her glasses. Not sun, regular. Hah. I realized it this morning and panicked for awhile before calling the hostel. The guy at the hostel said they hadnt been turned in but he would look in the room we stayed in and let me know in awhile. When I called back he said he had good news, he found them in their case with the blue cleaning cloth. Bad news, I thought, I didnt have them in a case, I thought I just left them on the table. He tells me they are exactly how I described them...but in a case. Good enough for me, Ian and I left for Germany again, hah. It was only a 90 minute train ride so it was alright. I arrive at our old hostel to discover that the guy DID find MY glasses...but in someone elses case. WTF! Someone was trying to JACK MY glasses!! So it was a very close call. I hope he doesnt give whoever it is their case back. LAME. But I was definitely glad they were there and that mom wouldnt kill me. Haha, see mom, I crossed the country to get my glasses back!! Still cant believe someone was in the process of stealing them tho...WHO DOES THAT!!! Anyways so we spent a little less time in Salzburg than we wanted...I didnt get to sing Doe a Deer running through the countryside, haha, but we had a good night spent at Augustiner Brewery which Ians uncle Charlie recommended to us, so that was fun. Tomorrow we head to Vienna, which should be a fairly short train ride.

3 minutes left online and not too much to type. We are meeting a lot of cool people on trains and such, its nice to have conversation, even if it only lasts a little while. Im becoming much more social.

Miss u guys!!

Advertisement



17th July 2008

My dear doting daughter, I would not have killed you for losing your glasses. You have done FAR worse than that before and you are still alive, right? Glad you followed through, though, and found them. Well done !!! You called me today!!!!!!! You have no idea how I loved that and had a big goofy smile on my face in Wal Mart while I talked with you. Just made my week !! Love you and miss you. Keep writing the blogs, we are reading them even if we don't reply to them.
22nd July 2008

You are too cool!!!
Hi Katie and Ian! Katie, you are too cool! How many people can say they crossed a country to retrieve glasses just in time before they were jacked???? What a great story. Thank you for making me laugh! Very cute! :-) I am glad you both are still having a great time. I love reading your blog. It makes me feel like I am on the trip with you. Take care! Love, Linda

Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb