Our day at a castle!


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Salzburg » Salzburg
July 15th 2008
Published: July 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hellloooo. Does anyone still read this? Haha, I know you do....I can see the page views.

Anyways, today we went to Neuwichtenstein Castle...we lucked out actually because we were supposed to go yesterday but I thought Ian had my train pass on him and he didnt so we found out last minute as we were sitting on the train that we had to quickly get off. However, it was pouring rain yesterday and just happened to clear up for today! Yay! It was about a 30 minute hike uphill to the castle and my knee was hurting a bit so that sucked (its all better now, mom, dont worry!), but the scenery was gorgeous. After seeing the castle we hiked a little more to a bridge where the view was breathtaking. So it was totally gorgeous...but heres the trip. There was a girl who I had in classes multiple times at SDSU who was born and raised in Germany but married a navy guy and now resides in San Diego. Guess what comes next? I freaking SAW her at the castle!! She came up to me and said hi and was just as shocked as I was....it was SO funny...we had quite a few conversations in our classes and it was the most random thing EVER...it made the day really cool! She just happened to be here for a wedding. What are the odds, eh?!

After that we came to Salzburg, Austria, where we are now. Our hostel seems ok but laundry and internet and breakfast is expensive. Lame. We are pretty tuckered out from today, all the hiking and traveling and stuff, so we are probably going to turn in early.

We will be here in Salzburg for two nights, then Vienna for two more nights, and then we head out of Austria into Hungary.

Its really weird not having a home base, really, and just moving around so much. We are having a blast though, and we are still in love, haha, so thats a good thing!!

Gnight everyone!!

Advertisement



15th July 2008

good!!
Thank you for making the comment that your knee feels better. Yes, I do worry, but less and less about that. I hope you took great photos of the castle for Lilly ... maybe even stick Cinderella in there for good measure. Amazing that you ran into your fellow classmate there. I bet she was stunned; who would have thought? Happy to hear you are still in love ... never doubted it. Weather is hot and muggy here. Guess it is finally summer. Keep having fun and make us feel like we are there too. LOVE you both!!!!
16th July 2008

Very Cool!!!
It's always so cool to see someone you know in a place that you would never expect. Like in another (huge) continent. I'm glad to see you're still having such a great time. I've been telling my friend Jeff (you met him at my party) about your trip. Now he wants to do it. I think when you get back he will want to pick your brain for info. He's still young enough to pull it off. Sorry I haven't wrote/commented in a while. I took the kids camping for a few days. You can read all about it in my MySpace blog. When I have the time to write it. I've rambled enough. Luv ya, miss ya.

Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb