Classroom Finished


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 24th 2006
Published: August 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So this morning we were told there was a meeting (professional development) all day. We arrived, only to find out that the entire thing was in Spanish. I had to sit through an hour and a half of some man speaking spanish and I had NO clue what he was saying. Ok... that's a lie. I understood the words 'but', and 'drunk'. Lovely I know. I was pissed. At the coffee break, a bunch of us went up to Cesar and told him we weren't doing that the rest of the day. He was fine with that.

I finished my room. I'll post all my before and after pics for ya. I also met one of my students today! her name is Angela Julissa (I have two Angelas in my class), pronounced "On-hey-la". She was SO cute. Very shy. Her mother was very nice too. She asked that her daughter sit in the front because she needs to pay attention. She said if she sits in the back she will talk. She said this all in Spanish and I had Chris there to translate but I actually understood her when she asked that. I don't know how but I did somehow. Anyways, I took them up to the classroom and let Angela pick which seat she wanted to sit in up in the front row. I asked her if she was excited for school. She said no. Too cute. I told her that we'd be having lots of fun this year and not to worry.

Another teacher also arrived today. He's a returning teacher from last year. His name is Donray, and he's from Phillidelphia. He'll be teaching highschool Math, and coaching the brand new basketball team. He and Chris are good friends from last year, so he'll be living in the green house with Chris, Jeff, and Kari... lucky Kari with all the boys 😉

Tonight we had to head back to the school for a "parents meeting". We were all under the impression that we were being introduced to the parents of the highschool aged students. This was not the case. It was the same Spanish speaker giving a talk to parents about Sexual Education. It was about an hour long and was all in spanish. I was again very frustrated that we were told to be there.

Afterwards Jenna, Chris and I went to Wendy's for dinner, while the others went to Plaza Colonial. We met up with them after for a beer. While there we saw a guy who's 6'8". We were very impressed, as Jill has been the tallest person in Honduras so far. Jenna and I went over and got him, brought him back and took a pic with him and Jill. Jill was all angry or something. We're not sure. Kari, Jenna, and I were all joking that we'd take him for ourselves. lol

Anyways, enjoy the pics. Oh ya, and if you're reading this, please leave a comment. My favourite part of the day is reading those comments, plus then I know who's reading it!

Hugs and Kisses to you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

More Pics - White BoardMore Pics - White Board
More Pics - White Board

yay, no messy chalk!
More Pics - Leaving the RoomMore Pics - Leaving the Room
More Pics - Leaving the Room

Thanks for stopping by!


25th August 2006

why are you so darn cute?
Your classroom is adorable. I am going in tomorrow to start setting up. I have 3 seperate classrooms so I have one wall in each class. Fun eh? Not much going on here. I can't believe we are done camp already. I can't believe school starts in a week and a half. EEK! I am glad you are having so much fun. I am jealous that I am not away somewhere again. I may need to go away again.....and soon. I'll tell Adam that it's your fault! ;) Miss you lots Sar!
25th August 2006

Hi
Hi Sarah, You did an excellent job decorating your class room. Hope you had fun doing it. Looks like it won't be long before the actual school year gets started. I bet you can't wait. Good luck with everything and keep sending these blogs with all the pictures. I love them. Bye for now. Love. Uncle Wayne
25th August 2006

cute room
HI SARAH YOUR NEW CLASSROOM IS LIKE A BOUQUET OF FLOWERS, JUST A WELCOMING FEELING. AND WITH SUCH A NICE TEACHER TO TEACH WITH THE CHILDREN WILL ENJOY THEIR SCHOOL YEAR. HAVE FUN AND WAY TO GO GIRL!
25th August 2006

wowza
Skillett your room looks fabulous! you're going to be teaching up a storm in that welcoming room! that's my Skillett!
25th August 2006

Nice job decorating your classroom "Miss Sarah". Glad all is going well with you down there. I do read your blogs every time you send them. I am sharing them with Tim and the girls as well to keep them posted. Good luck when the actual teaching begins! Inky
25th August 2006

too cute!
Sarah... those kids won't know what hit them when they walk in that room! Your classroom looks awesome... wanna teach me? I could go back to grade three again :P Thanks for all the updates (I'm still catching up from my trip, but I LOVE reading about you time down there!) Nice classroom Miss Sarah! love ya and miss ya!
25th August 2006

Awesome room
Your room looks amazing! I love what you did and I love the open feeling you get from the side windows. The kids will be so excited. I can't wait for you to send pictures of the students too - have a great weekend and we'll be thinking of you Monday on your first big day of school! Love MOM
25th August 2006

WOW
I love your classroom! You're passion for teaching is so evident in the way you decorate. I love it. I did notice once thing...your door says Miss Sarah......should it not say Miss Willett? (LOL) I also like the way the desks are set up and the pictures above the lockers. Reading about the tall guy and jills made me laugh out loud. You guys are too funny. Gotta run - crunch time. Thinking you of often. -J'arns.
25th August 2006

I love it!
Hey Sarah...your room is just the way I knew it would be...PERFECT! The kids will love it and of course they will love you....I love the colours!!! Honestly...that a girl! But did I expect you to have a room any less than fantastic....nope! I knew it would look awesome! MISS YOU!! xo Shawna
25th August 2006

Another reason to tempt me to join you: wipe off boards! I HATE chalk boards. Every time I write on them, my hands itch until i wash them. I'm crazy, I know . . . just a touch of OCD there :) Your room is beautiful friend.
25th August 2006

S'Wills - Love the decs! I am enjoying living vicariously through your Honduran travels...a nice break from training!! XO Kate
25th August 2006

I wish that I could be a kid in your class!
OK sarah, my grade 3 teacher might have been awesome, but not THAT awesome. your classroom looks fantastic! i dind't even know it was possible to leave comments on this thing before you said to leave you some, but YAY for finding that out. i really do like reading your blog, esp cause i plan to become a teacher (although i have quite a few years to go - i start first year next week, and i think i'll take a while to get a degree). do the kids in your class speak english already, or is the point that you have to teach them to speak it? have a happy start to school, much love, Emily
25th August 2006

Looks great Sarah! I love your classroom door! I still haven't been able to get in and set up my room yet but I'll send you some pics once it's all done. You are going to have so much fun!
25th August 2006

Looks great Sarah!
Wow - I can't believe it's back to school time already! Congrats on getting your room ready, it looks great!! (You beat me...I haven't even started yet). I can't wait until you get to meet the rest of your students - I'm sure you'll have a blast with them. I love reading all about your adventures, almost makes me wish I was there too. Enjoy the experience, it's an experience of a lifetime. (((hugs))) Carol P.S. - Just FYI, I did end up getting pregnant this summer...and just found out it's twins. Yikes! I guess I won't finish this year after all. :o)
26th August 2006

CUTE!!
Nice classroom, I too have started setting up my classroom, it is a lot of fun. Yours looks AWESOME, I so wish you were here to come and use your artisitc talents since I am lacking in that department. I love your daily enyeries, keep them coming.
26th August 2006

Your classroom is beautiful Sar!!! These kids are SO lucky to have a teacher as fabulous as you! I can't wait to hear all about them when classes start. Muchos love! Miss you, Sandra.
26th August 2006

Looks more like camp than school
hey looking at your pics reminds me so much of being at camp.. espeially girls camp. But you did an awesome job decorating and keep up with the blogs.. it helps enterain me at work:)
27th August 2006

im readdding!
i swear i am. and i love hearing about the steamy spanish lovers youre meeting. go for it. but dont do anything i wouldnt do. which pretty much opens your options to everything. haha. love a
28th August 2006

S'wills... I wish I were a Grade 3 Honduran kid so I could spend my days in that wicked classroom! Nice Work! ... btw - I read the list... very entertaining... but since when is grunting the newest form of flirting... I've been doin' that for years! :)
28th August 2006

Hi Sarah!
Hi! I found your blog when I was typing random names into Goggle. I am so happy that you are having a great time in Honduras. I used to have a foster child from there. We would write letters back and forth. She was awesome. Your classroom looks great. I am starting first year at Queen's next week so I have been busy packing. I hope you have an amazing first day of class! Love Megan

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb