Planning Done, Decision Made, and New Friends Met


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 24th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So Chris and I finished our planning today. All of our annual plans are in, as well as our first 2 weeks of daily plans. TLK friends, this was nothing compared to block plans so don't feel too sorry for me... lol.

I'm mostly done the decorations in my classroom as well. I think I'll bring my camera tomorrow so that you can finally all see what my classroom looks like... before and after.

Talked with Kari today. Her and Jeff are going to get certified for scuba diving that long weekend in September when we get a 5 day weekend. This was a thought they had before. I thought about it, and I'm totally in. It's about $220 USD for the 3-4 days of training and certification in English. Apparently the Bay Islands in Honduras are the best place to do it and also the cheapest in the World. I've heard of so many people travelling to the bay islands for scuba diving, and now I'm excited to jump on board. It scares me a little bit but I figure I need to be in the moment and face the fear. When am I ever going to be back in this moment again? Once you're certified you're certified for life apparently. Chris was certified his first year here and also did it in Utilla. I'm getting really excited. Once you're certified it's about $40 US to do a dive anywhere. That totally seems worth it to be able to see the amazing things that I will get to see. I'm actually pretty pumped about it. No Opportunity Wasted...

I went to the grocery store after school today. There were a few things I wanted to pick up while I was there. A white man stopped me in the store and asked me if he had seen me walking down the street with a tall blonde girl. I said yes (Jenna) and then he and I talked from probably about 10 minutes. He told me he's from the States and that he got a call asking a pastor to come down to a Church in Honduras that really needed him. He left 2 weeks later. He said he just moved here, although I'm not sure how recent that would be. he said he's leaving to go back to the States at the end of September to raise more funds for the Church. When he found out that I was Christian and that I had a background in music, he asked if I would like to help teach little kids how to sing. I said that I would LOVE to. I gave him my phone number and he said he'd call me sometime soon, as his wife would probably like to have me over for dinner sometime as well. The Church is apparently a non-denominational Church. I don't know if they do the services in Spanish but it sounds interesting. He was a little bit "preachy" for my liking but it'd be nice to know more people in the area, be connected to a Church, and be able to give to the community by teaching little kids how to sing. We'll see if he calls.

Well, tomorrow we are in some sort of training from 8-3 and then from 6-8 the highschool parents are coming to visit the school so they would like us there as well. It's going to be a very long day. This weekend is looking good though. One of the foreign teachers, Morgan, who has taught here for 3 years now, just recently married a Honduran girl. He now lives here and is opening a bar. He hopes to have it open to the public by October. Friday night, we're having a party for all the EBH teachers, at his new bar. I don't know what's in it but it should be fun. I'm excited that there will be a bar that we can all hang out at (maybe Saturday nights). Then saturday there's some sort of outdoor music festival in La Parque Central. We're not positive of this but have been told. I'm looking forward to a fun weekend and then meeting my students on Monday... can't wait.

Advertisement



24th August 2006

SCUBA DIVING!!!!!!!!!
We were chatting before, but I am still soooooooooo jealous that you are doing your scuba diving!! Are you doing a PADI course? I have my open water, and adventure diver, and it was the best thing I ever did. I was certified in the Great Barrier Reef, Australia, did 9 dives there, and then did 2 more when I was in Fiji. I WISH there was somewhere around here I could go diving, but like seriously, Lake Ontario?? What am I gonna get to see there, brown murky water and muck?? haha....sad but true. Anyway, the bottom line is Sarah, like I said before on MSN, I am so happy for you that you are doing the diving. It is scary, I won't say it's not, but after the first time it is so freaking amazing. I had a lot of problems with my ears, it took me a lot longer to equalize than most of my group did, and so I always felt like I was holding people back, but my instructor learned this after the first dive and he always helped me do different tricks to get them to equalize. The first 5-7m was always the hardest for me, and then once I hit 10 metres or so, it was so easy to get right down to 30m. AWESOME!!! Have fun, can't wait to hear what you think of it!!! Love Pamela
26th August 2006

SCUBA DIVING...SO FUN, man you are living life to the fullest and so you should, I am jealous, i would love to scuba dive somewhere beautiful one day, hey maybe you can teach me!!! Have a great weekend

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb