More Sunday Soccer Fun


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 20th 2006
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jenna and I at the Soccer GameJenna and I at the Soccer GameJenna and I at the Soccer Game

Taken by the random guy who first took a picture of us with his own camera (what the... ?) then agreed to take one with my camera as well.
So after a lot of vegging out yesterday, doing nothing much more than watching "Anchorman", we decided to go to another soccer game. It was a local game between "Hispano" from Comayagua, and "Montagua" from where I am not sure. Jenna and I were the only ones to go, and decided to cheer for Hispano. While we were waiting in line to get tickets, the man on a loud speaker for "Diez" (kind of like ESPN down here) came over to us and asked who the "American Girls" were cheering for. Jenna understood what he asked in spanish so she answered then he came to me and I just scremed. lol... it was funny.

Lots of more interesting things happened at this game. First off, we bought tickets that were 10 lempira more expensive, thinking it would mean better seats. It simply meant the other side of the stadium. This seems random to me, and only makes sense when I think about the randomness of Honduras so far. The seats were SOOO hot too. Jenna and I leterally thought our bums were burning!

Next, we had our photo taken 3 times... once by a random man sitting next to us (who we then asked to take our picture with my camera as well), and twice by two different media men. We're not sure if it was for their own personal collection or if there will be a headline in the newspaper tomorrow that reads "Crazy White Girls Cheer For Local Team".

There were also crazy fans who had homemade fireworks/bombs that they lit and then let explode, making VERY loud noises and lots of smoke. A few were thrown onto the field on the other side of the stadium and then a few were lit right next to us. The first time it happened, I had NO idea. It was like 2 benches in front of us and a tiny ways down. It was SO loud that I thought it had done damage to my ear drums. You could feel the impact from it too. I thought maybe I had explosive bits in my legs or something but that didn't happen either. They lit another one a little while later and Jenna and I moved up a few benches and covered our ears this time. One man told them to stop because the "gringas" didn't like it (in Spanish). We then hid behind that man every time they lit another one. There were probably about 5 or 6 lit throughout the game... not so much fun.

After the game we had a man sing "American Woman" to us, were offered a ride, told we were loved, and had the regular whistles and kissing noises.

We then walked the whole way home, which took us anywhere between 45 min and an hour we figure. Good exercise.

The others got home. Everyone came back from their weekends and told their stories. Sounds like the lake that Jeff, Jill, and Kari went to was really pretty. I would love to visit it sometime when I have the money to spend. The new teacher from France arrived tonight as well. Her name is Julie and she'll be teaching French (duh) at the school. She said she's only living in our house until her house is ready though. I wonder where she'll be living... maybe with Scott?

Tomorrow is more school. Maybe we'll actually get our class lists. I also need to get to daily plans. We have to hand in the first 2 weeks plans by wednesday... eeeek! I am looking forward to school starting though.

I'm really liking it here. We'll see how I feel after a few months of the same sort of things but for now, I'm perfectly content. It's amazing to think how much of the world is out there and how much we have never seen or experienced. I'm so happy to be experiencing something new. I think I've started an even bigger travel bug in me than what was already there. I'm already thinking about where else I'd like to travel. Europe would be an amazing trip. Too bad travelling requires money. Maybe I'll just keep working in different countries. We'll see where I end up and where I'm meant to go. Right now I'm just so excited to be on this amazing journey.

Advertisement



22nd August 2006

I love your last paragraph....
Sarah, When I was reading your email and blogs before you left, you seemed pretty nervous for this whole experience. I remember writing once to just go do it and you will love it. I realize you haven't been gone for that long, only a few weeks if that, but the last paragraph of this blog entry says it all. You are content for now, will compare in a few months. In a few months, I can almost guarantee you, you will say it seems like you just got there. It will not seem like you are 1/4 or 1/3 through your entire trip, it will seem like you just arrived and are still getting familiar with everything, at the same time will seem so normal cuz you have yoru regular bar like Cheers where everyone knows your name, or knows you as gringa at least! haha, and your kids are familar and your friends are familiar.... The bottom line, themore I talk to, and hear from, and converse with friends who are doing things abroad, at the moment in Honduras, Korea, Marshall Islands, Argentina, Australia......I am so happy for everyone who is abroad and am SOOOOOOO Jealous of not being there myself!!!! Enjoy EVERY momemnt you have there, when you are home in a years time you are going to wonder where the time went. Have fun Sarah... Love Pamela
22nd August 2006

Hi
HI Sarah, I glad to hear that you are still having fun and really enjoying yourself. It's not hard to get the travel bug, and it never goes away. That's not a bad thing, however it does take money, lots of it. Sounds like you will be an expert on soccer by the time you come home. Keep having fun. Talk to you later. Love Uncle Wayne.

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0988s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb