First Day of School a Success!


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 29th 2006
Published: August 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today was a very long day. I had trouble sleeping lastnight because I was so excited for school today. I then got up at 5:30am (ewwww) and was heading to school by 6:15.

When we got to school, there were already tons people there; SO many parents dropping their kids off. I didn't have keys to my classroom, so I waited outside with my students, trying to learn a few names. Once the classroom was open, the students all went inside, found their locker and desk and started putting stuff away.

The bell went and all of the sudden I was missing more than half of my students. I saw them all rushing downstairs so I asked Chris what was going on. I knew there was an assembly but I didn't know my students would know where to go for it and would go without me. It was a little chaotic but kind of funny.

There was then a short 20-25 min assembly where all the teachers were introduced to the students and some basic rules were gone over. Then back up to the classroom for some introduction activities. The periods are each 40 minutes long, and mondays I only see them for 5 of the 10 periods of the day; one of those being the period taken up by the assembly. We still did a lot of stuff though. We played name games, had a class meeting, started discussing our life skill of the week (respect), made up our own set of class rules, explained everything in the classroom and how it all works (my classroom management techniques), decorated name plates for the desks, and even learned the beginning stages for solving Sodoku puzzles. Yes that's right, I have 9 year olds doing Sodoku puzzles.... well, trying.

Now about my students... they are precious. I was supposed to have 19 but got an extra one today so I now have 20 students... perfect number for breaking down into partners or groups. The kids already, by the end of day one, love me. I've heard the same thing from all the teachers. I think the kids here just LOVE teachers. I had one student kiss me on the cheek on the way out the door, tons more hug me, and one give me cookies. They call the teachers all "Mees" (Miss) or "Meester" (Mr.) instead of Miss Sarah or Mr. Chris. They are so eager and ask SO many questions. They really are a smart bunch. At the end of the day, I was quizing them on info and rewarding bonus bucks to whomever answered correctly (my rewards system where they then use the money earned to bid on classroom jobs for the following week) and I was SO impressed by them. They were able to spell my last name (which I mentioned to them for a second when they asked what it was), tell me my cats names (which I said breifly in the morning while showing a picture), and even say my sister Ginny's name (which they got on the second try after "Jenny" was guessed). They constantly wanted to follow me around all day, even when I was on duty at lunch in the hallway. They're just super sweet kids who want nothing more than to be cared about.

My students are actually 9 and 10 because of the extra year they have between kindergarten and grade one (called prepa). So it'd be like the equivalent of grade 4s back home. They are excited to learn if learning is made fun. I can't wait to try to do that for them this year. They are so used to what us TLKers call "sit and get" that if I throw in anything fun, they should have a blast. Tomorrow we're going outside to do a balance experiment/lab to start our science unit on the human body, and then we're going to do a writing activity that involves eating skittles. I am so looking forward to a great year with them. So far all my classroom management techniques have been working out well. Any sort of reward motivates them. It's funny. I'm not implementing it every time though, so that possitive reinforcement doesn't turn into the opposite, or where they ONLY will perform for rewards. Oh psychology.

Went for dinner with Jill and Leah between school and the parents meeting. We walked to the Chinese restaurant down the road and I had the biggest bowl of soup I've ever eaten. It was shrimp and vegetables. SO good.

The parents meeting was ok. It was all in Spanish and I understood about one word for every 15-20 said. They introduced all of the staff though. They had us up on stage, said our name, what we were teaching, where we're from, what our degree is in, year of experience, and years at the school. Standing up there, I realised I'm really doing this. It kind of sunk in. I'm it for the year. I get to work with these amazing kids to develop amazing relationships and help them build upon their prior knowledge. What an awesome thing to be able to do, and in another country none the less!

On the way home from the parents' meeting, about a block from our house, I hear "Mees! Mees!" I then realised someone was yelling for me. It turned out to be one of my students who lives just down the road. So great. I hope to run into more of them all over town. OH! The student whose mother works at Villa Real said to me today "Mees, you were at the disco friday. My mother told me." HAHA! lovely...

Anyways, it was a great first day. I already love my students and can't wait to do more. I'm off to bed now. I have to get up in 7 hours... ewwwwww. Still not a fan of early mornings. Saturday sleep-ins are going to be amazing. HEHE. Buenos Noches.


Advertisement



29th August 2006

Hey Sarah, I'm so glad your first day was a success. it sounds like you're going to have an amazing year with these cute loving kids. You must keep us updated on how the teaching goes- i'm fascinated to find out how you're going to do it ! take care ! Ro
29th August 2006

Sounds like your really pumped about this. I have no doubt that these kids will worship you even more tomorrow. Maybe they can even teach you a bit more spanish while their at it. Good luck on your second day:)
29th August 2006

SO PROUD OF YOU MEES
I just knew your first day would be like that and that the kids will love you. You've worked hard for this day and all the skills you've learned through the years are being put to use. Congratulations - way to go! Love Mom
29th August 2006

a great beginning of excitment
Hi Sarah Sounds like you got a great start on your first day of teaching. WOW to have so many happy faces looking at you with such love and trust. Where every you go Sarah happiness will follow, you just keep passing it along. Have fun!!!!
30th August 2006

Glad you had such a fantastic first day! I FINALLY got into my classroom and have begun setting up. Talk about overwhelming. I am hoping to have most of it done by tomorrow so I can focus on planning for my first week. Your kids sound adorable! I was thinking that in a few weeks we would write you a class letter. Do you think we should try it via email first? Let me know what you think. Talk soon. :)
1st September 2006

WoW!
Sarah, I am so excited to read your blogs - sorry I missed them last week! I love reading about your adventures with your students - sounds like it is a wonderful opportunity. Well done! I have been setting up my classroom too - a week behind you but getting there! Been in all week and thinking about 1 - 2 hours tomorrow should do it! Take care and look forward to Saturday! ~Nicole~
1st September 2006

Hey there!
Hi Sarah! It's sounds like you really are having a blast! Take in every moment! This year is going to fly by! Continue having a great time!

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb