Almost a Full Week of School


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

School is going well. I can't really complain. Well, I guess I can. lol. The way that the school is set up, it's very open. You'd think this was a good thing but sound travels SO easily. Even when no one in my class is talking and the door is shut, there is a constant buzz. This causes my students to think they can also talk and then much classroom management with noise must be executed. I'm getting used to it but it can also be frustrating at times. Apparently many teachers are experiencing this though.

I sent home my first letter to a parent tonight. I had Chris translate it into Spanish. I have one boy who never is prepared for class. He's still missing textbooks, leaves books at home, and today did not even bring a pencil or pen to school. He's never got his books out when I'm teaching, he leaves his papers all over the floor, loses his work, and talks to others/mumbles to himself in class. He was on the "red light" of the stoplight for most of today, so a letter went home. We'll see if it's signed and returned tomorrow. Apparently this boy is new to this school. I fear that he will fail the year due to lack of concentration and organisation. I am determined to not let that happen.

I started private tutoring on Tuesday. His name is Rey (pronounced Ray) and he's a lawyer for the country (prosecutor? Whatever the one is against the defendent). He's married, has two girls, and just wants to improve his english for business purposes. I'm taking him for an hour tuesday and thursdays, Kari has him on mondays and wednesdays, and Nadia has him on Fridays. We're switching off depending on which days each of us has spanish lessons (Kari is in the advanced class so has classes on different days than I do). Rey said we're already miles above what Kim did last year. Kim was also Hiro's ex, and the teacher that her former students call "very unprepared and unorganised."

In any case, I've been having a lot of fun with it. Today he and I were actually laughing so hard. He has a lot of troubles with the "sh" sound and the short "i". So the word "sheepishly" was painful for him but good practice. We both had a good laugh. He then laughed at me trying to say mushroom in spanish. We just have him reading articles out of Reader's Digest, helping him with pronunciation and then starting today, with the sounds "th", "sh", and "ch". It's not great money but it's something... plus I really enjoy doing it. Tomorrow night after his lesson with Nadia, he's taking Kari and I out to dinner (Nadia has plans) for some local food. We're not sure where but I'm up for anything new and exciting.

Played some Cattan again (that board game that's half risk, half monopoly) which was fun. A bunch of us are totally addicted. It's sick. We play almost every night. Two nights ago I won two in a row. Tonight I was sucking so I tried to help Jill and Chris win, just so that Donray couldn't. He and I both had a winning streak of two (we hadn't played together yet) so I figured if I wasn't going to continue mine, neither was he. lol. I really enjoy the company of the other staff. We have a lot of fun together.

I'm not sure what the plan is for the weekend. I think tomorrow night will be Villa Real again. I think my students Dad actually owns it. She said in a journal to me that her Dad owns a restaurant, disco, karaoke, bar, and hotel. Villa Real is all of those things. Maybe I won't have to pay cover ever again. lol. Anyways, I'm hoping to run into Hiro. I haven't seen him since last weekend and things were left sort of awkward. Sunday Chris and I have to do some planning. Other than that, I have no idea what's on the plate. I'm looking forward to some dancing though.

I'm sure you'll hear all about it, no matter what happens this weekend.

Advertisement



1st September 2006

I love Miss Sarah. A lot.
1st September 2006

TEACHERS —
Teachers are like candles . . . consuming of themselves to light the way for their underlings, who are eager to see the way. Godspeed, Sarah. Love always, DAD
2nd September 2006

Okay Mr. Willett.....do you have to make everybody cry???? So sweet! Glad your first week was a success Sarah. Keep up the good work! Have a great weekend.
2nd September 2006

Hey Sarah, Glad your first few days were a success, we'll see how mine go next week, my classroom is still not ready not that it will ever be. I am sure your students are lovin you, whats not to love you are the best!!! HAve a fun weekend.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb