Some School Fun


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 18th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Basketball After SchoolBasketball After SchoolBasketball After School

Chris (red bandana), Cesar, Jenna (blonde), and Jill
Much of the same today with school stuff. Chris and I got our annual plans done, so now I can start planning my weekly/daily plans. I am over halfway done decorations in the classroom too. Everything is well on it's way.

Hmmm... exciting things of this week.... let's see. Yesterday I went to thr grocery store by myself, bought all sorts of food and then took a taxi home. I was able to tell him where I lived by giving the directions left, right, and straight in Spanish. I was very pleased with myself.

All sorts of interesting things getting into our houses at night. Lastnight we had a giant beetle thing that kept flying at Jenna, Kari, and I. It was gross. Today it was a giant toad. Like a BIG toad hoping around in our living room. Chris finally got it out with a broom.

This morning I tried baliatas (spelling?) from a woman on the street. lol... ok, that sounds bad. There's a woman who has a stand at the side of the road and she sells these AMAZING things. Chris knows her well from last year and took us there this morning. These baliata things are apparently very popular for breakfast. It's a tortilla with refried beans, cheese, and cream. You can also get eggs if you want. I only got one without egg (just to try it) and it was great. SUPER cheap too. It cost us 3 lempira for each one. That's about 15 cents. Mmmm.

Today after school we played some basketball. That was fun. It was Cesar (the principal/director), Jill, Jenna, Chris, Brian, and myself. We played 2 games of 3 on 3 and then Brian and I just took pictures of the 3rd game, which was 2 on 2. I really can't say I'm much of a basketball player, but I did get 2 baskets... lol. Maybe I'll get better with practice. It just felt nice to get a bit of a workout. We were definately sweating... quite a bit hotter here when the sun's out.

Tonight Chris, Jill, Kari, and I played a board game called Settlers of Catan. It's kind of like Monopoly meets Risk. It's SUCH a great game. Oh man. SO much fun. Kari and I didn't know what we were doing (neither of us had played it before) but we're all practiced and ready to go for next time. Chris won. It's his game so he's had lots of practice... lol. We'll get him soon enough!

Oh, I got an e-mail from a girl named Alisa today. She's been hired to teach "Prepa" and is coming on the 3rd of September. Apparently they've also found a grade 4 teacher (who is also a female) who will be moving in once she gets here. Then we've heard rumours about a girl from France who will be teaching French, and a guy named Anton (or Antoine; we haven't figured out which one) who will be teaching Science (we suspect). We'll see who actually comes and when they actually get here. We were hoping to be able to keep one room in each house open as a guest room, but I suspect that's not going to happen anymore.

I guess that's it for news. This weekend I should have more stories. A bunch of people are taking off to go places (visit friends in other cities in Honduras, or a little trip to a nearby lake) but I don't have money right now so I will stick close to home. Jenna is too.
Basketball After School 4Basketball After School 4Basketball After School 4

Cesar was SO good... Chris says the best Honduran he's ever seen.
I think Chris as well. Jenna figures she doesn't want to stray far from home until it feels like home. We're most likely going to head back to Villla Real. That place was fun last Friday. We'll see how it goes.

Anyways, hope all are well. Miss you guys! Buenos Noches.

Advertisement



18th August 2006

Roundball
This Honduran 3-on-3, parking-lot hoops game brought to you by your friends at Coca-Cola, a refreshing beverage that, like basketball, makes a swish sound when it goes down. Godspeed, Sarah. Glad to hear all is well. Love always. DAD XXX OOO

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb