Team Grade 3!


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Birthday DrinksBirthday DrinksBirthday Drinks

Jill just sent me this picture from my birthday. I thought you might like to see some of the teachers I write about. From left to right: Kari, Jenna, Jill, Nadia, and I
Today was nothing too exciting. I started decorating my class in the morning, but then spent the majority of the day organizing school stuff with Chris. Our annual overviews are due next wednesday, and he and I just want them done ASAP. We worked through the textbooks and workbooks and have figured out where we should be at in terms of the materials and the year. The weirdest thing is that there's no curriculum. We pretty much just decide what we want to do based on the textbooks we are given. It's so strange really. For assessment, we're meant to just give them tests. I hate that. I feel like I'll be going through a lot of my programs and trying to see if I can add creativity and projects or assessments different from tests. Eeek... Creating my own curriculum is tough. I'm totally excited but a tad bit nervous I suppose. It's lovely though that Chris has already taught it for 2 years. He knows what's going on. It's just very "by the book", which I'm hoping to get us away from.

I'm pumped for stuff like "the food chain", where I can play fun games like "Survival" with my class. Or for Science, having them bring in simple machines (yes Laura, I'm teaching your unit... HELP ME! I'd love it!) from home and doing hands on activities. I told Chris that I, myself, am a very kinaesthetic learner and if I can do activities with my students, that'd be AWESOME. I'm going to look through the annual overview once we're finished it tomorrow, and see if I can come up with some cool activities. Chris says he's totally game for whatever as well.

I decided that I'm not going to post pictures just yet. I want to wait until I'm done my class so that you can see the befores and afters side by side. I should have my class all decorated by the end of the week.

I'm not sure that I'm going to kep writing blogs every day. There's not going to be much to report on for now. Today I went to the bank and figured out which one I needed to go to in order to get money out from my home account. It was funny because it gave me a receipt back, telling me my bank balance (Canada account) in lempira. HAHA!

Tomorrow after school I'm going to get groceries. Other than that, life is pretty much the same. I'll write with more exciting things in a few days I suppose. Love and Miss you all!

Advertisement



15th August 2006

Miss you girlie!!
Hey hun!!! Just wanted to send a little note your way to tell you I miss you!! Can't wait to see your classroom....don't forget to show us pics!!! xo Shawna
16th August 2006

Here you go!!!
Sarah, so far it sounds like good times...I am excited to hear soem of your teaching expereinces and comparing notes, only 2 more weeks until its my turn and I am excited but also nervous. Can't wait to see your classroom. Cheers,
16th August 2006

Miss you too
Can't wait till you get your classroom done and get to hear about your students in a couple of weeks - what lucky children they will be!
16th August 2006

Levers, Planes, and Screws, oh my!
I would be happy to send you all the stuff I have....it sucks that it was the fall block and not liek major unit plans like second term. A lot of it was actually photocopies from Bibi but I may try scanning and emial ing them to you. Plus I still have a folder of bookmarked websites. Bug me for them online in the next few days and I will get around to scannign the handouts. Miss you! P.S. Thanks for the pics of HIB, finally. I approve.
16th August 2006

Hey sis, so excited for you to start teaching. You are going to be a great asset to the school. You are so creative and you have had sooo much experience in your life that is perfect for this, the staff and the kids are just going to love you! Good luck and show them what you got! Miss you XOXOXO

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb